illegal immigration http://nwpr.org en Day 4 of Hunger Strike at Tacoma Detention Center http://nwpr.org/post/day-4-hunger-strike-tacoma-detention-center <p>Immigration officials say a lockdown has been lifted at a Tacoma detention center where hundreds of detainees are involved in a hunger strike.</p><p>As of Monday morning, 154 detainees were refusing food.</p><p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:19:36 +0000 Liz Jones 42585 at http://nwpr.org Day 4 of Hunger Strike at Tacoma Detention Center Washington Legislature Sends ‘Real Hope’ Act To Governor http://nwpr.org/post/washington-legislature-sends-real-hope-act-governor <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A late vote in the Washington legislature has the children of immigrants cheering - literally. The state House Tuesday night overwhelmingly gave final approval to a measure to allow high school graduates who came to this country illegally with their parents to apply for state financial aid.</span></p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 14:26:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 41667 at http://nwpr.org Washington Legislature Sends ‘Real Hope’ Act To Governor 'Real Hope' Act Passes Washington Senate http://nwpr.org/post/real-hope-act-passes-washington-senate <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/013114TW_DreamAct_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Undocumented Washington high school graduates may be one step closer to accessing financial aid.<p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 13:38:25 +0000 Taylor Winkel 40879 at http://nwpr.org 'Real Hope' Act Passes Washington Senate Washington House Re-Passes College Aid For Immigrant Students http://nwpr.org/post/washington-house-re-passes-college-aid-immigrant-students <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011314TS_Santos_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It wasn’t all pomp and circumstance on Monday. The opening day of the Washington Legislature included something rare for day one: a floor vote.<p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 01:09:32 +0000 39976 at http://nwpr.org Washington House Re-Passes College Aid For Immigrant Students Signature Drive Forces Vote On Oregon Driver License Bill http://nwpr.org/post/signature-drive-forces-vote-oregon-driver-license-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/101813CL_licenses_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon voters will decide next year whether people in this country illegally can qualify for a state driver license.<p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 23:09:22 +0000 Chris Lehman 35948 at http://nwpr.org Signature Drive Forces Vote On Oregon Driver License Bill Causa Supporters Hold Rally In Eugene http://nwpr.org/post/causa-supporters-hold-rally-eugene <p>To show support for immigration reform, about 25 people attended a rally in front of the federal building in Eugene Wednesday.</p><p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 00:40:45 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 25691 at http://nwpr.org Causa Supporters Hold Rally In Eugene In King County Jails, I.C.E. Holds Lead To Longer Lockups http://nwpr.org/post/king-county-jails-ice-holds-lead-longer-lockups <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you’re booked into a King County jail, you’ll stay an extra month, on average, if immigration officials want to review your file.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">That’s even if you haven’t been charged with a crime.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This is one of the findings in a new report today from the University of Washington.</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 01:28:34 +0000 Liz Jones 24979 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Town Rides Ups And Downs Of 'Broken' Immigration System http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-town-rides-ups-and-downs-broken-immigration-system <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031913JR_Brewster_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>BREWSTER, Wash. - There's one word that politicians almost always use when they talk about the U.S. immigration system. That word is “broken.” But what does that really mean? Residents of the small town of Brewster, Wash., know. For decades, immigrants have come from Mexico, often illegally, to work the surrounding apple and cherry orchards. Wed, 20 Mar 2013 13:32:45 +0000 Jessica Robinson 24573 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Town Rides Ups And Downs Of 'Broken' Immigration System Budget Impasse Leads To Some Releases At Tacoma Immigration Lockup http://nwpr.org/post/budget-impasse-leads-some-releases-tacoma-immigration-lockup <p>Sequestration has apparently led to a “get out of jail free” card for some detainees at an immigration lockup in Tacoma. With budget cuts looming, the Department of Homeland Security announced Tuesday that it’s shifting some detainees around the country to supervised release. KUOW’s Liz Jones reports. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 14:17:18 +0000 Liz Jones 23420 at http://nwpr.org College Aid For Undocumented Students Up For Debate In Olympia http://nwpr.org/post/college-aid-undocumented-students-debate-olympia <p></p><p>Wednesday hundreds of immigrants and advocates plan to gather in Olympia to lay out their priorities for lawmakers. One top issue is called the Washington Dream Act. State Senator Ed Murray introduced the bill Tuesday. Under the measure, undocumented college students would become eligible for state financial aid. Wed, 06 Feb 2013 01:40:10 +0000 Liz Jones 22288 at http://nwpr.org College Aid For Undocumented Students Up For Debate In Olympia