Governor Jay Inslee http://nwpr.org en Secretary Moniz Meets With Washington Governor On Hanford http://nwpr.org/post/secretary-moniz-meets-washington-governor-hanford <p></p><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says the US Department of Energy is failing to provide him a “comprehensive” Hanford cleanup plan. The Democrat's comments follow a face-to-face meeting with the Secretary of Energy who made a special trip to meet with the governor.</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 22:37:54 +0000 Austin Jenkins 42938 at http://nwpr.org Secretary Moniz Meets With Washington Governor On Hanford Inslee, Teachers' Union Clash Over Evaluation Measure http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-teachers-union-clash-over-evaluation-measure <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030614AJ_TeacherEval_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>They supported his campaign, but now some unionized teachers in Washington have stern words for Governor Jay Inslee.<p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 00:44:47 +0000 Austin Jenkins 42406 at http://nwpr.org Inslee, Teachers' Union Clash Over Evaluation Measure Washington Governor Signs Real Hope Act http://nwpr.org/post/washington-governor-signs-real-hope-act <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington is now the fourth state in the nation to give college students who are in the country illegally access to state-funded financial aid. Wednesday, hundreds of students cheered as Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> signed the “Real Hope” act in as a bill.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 14:05:51 +0000 Taylor Winkel 42076 at http://nwpr.org Washington Governor Signs Real Hope Act Inslee Explores Minimum Wage Hike For State Workers, Contractors http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-explores-minimum-wage-hike-state-workers-contractors <p>President Obama recently ordered a minimum wage increase for federal contractors. Now Washington Governor Jay Inslee says he may consider a similar executive order at the state level. The Democrat made his comments Friday after a meeting with the President at the White House where minimum wage was discussed.</p><p> Sat, 22 Feb 2014 01:08:44 +0000 Austin Jenkins 41825 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Explores Minimum Wage Hike For State Workers, Contractors Governor Inslee Talks Clean Tech And Coal Exports http://nwpr.org/post/governor-inslee-talks-clean-tech-and-coal-exports <p></p><p>Governor Jay Inslee was in Arlington, Washington Wednesday to celebrate the opening of a new cleantech facility that will employ 70 people.</p><p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 13:45:53 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33020 at http://nwpr.org Governor Inslee Talks Clean Tech And Coal Exports As Washington Budget Negotiations Heat Up, Shutdown Details Emerge http://nwpr.org/post/washington-budget-negotiations-heat-shutdown-details-emerge <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/06/062013AJ_XGREndgame_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The push is on to get a final budget deal in Olympia. Top legislative leaders met Thursday to see if they could bridge their final differences. Meanwhile, we’re starting to get a clearer picture of what a July 1 government shutdown would look like if there’s no agreement.<p>The governor’s office says without a new budget, 34 state agencies and commissions would completely shut down on July 1st. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:22:30 +0000 Austin Jenkins 29711 at http://nwpr.org As Washington Budget Negotiations Heat Up, Shutdown Details Emerge Washington Revenue Debate Not Over With Estate Tax “Fix” http://nwpr.org/post/washington-revenue-debate-not-over-estate-tax-fix <p></p><p>The checks will not be in the mail Friday morning. Washington Governor Jay Inslee signed legislation late Thursday night to halt the issuance of refunds to the heirs of some multi-million dollar estates. At a midnight bill signing, Inslee – a Democrat – praised the legislature for voting to fund schools in lieu of refunds for wealthy families. But he also said he wants lawmakers to find additional sources of revenue for the next budget.</p><p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 14:45:13 +0000 Austin Jenkins 29331 at http://nwpr.org Government Shutdown? Prisons Would Stay Open, But Much Of State Would Not http://nwpr.org/post/government-shutdown-prisons-would-stay-open-much-state-would-not <p></p><p>Washington prisons would stay open, but much of the state would not if there’s a government shutdown. Governor Jay Inslee met with his cabinet Wednesday to begin contingency planning if there’s no budget by the end of the month. That’s the start of the new fiscal year. Nick Brown is the Governor’s attorney.</p><p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 14:07:31 +0000 Austin Jenkins 29254 at http://nwpr.org Government Shutdown? Prisons Would Stay Open, But Much Of State Would Not I-5 Bridge Collapse: Update http://nwpr.org/post/i-5-bridge-collapse-update <p></p><p>By first light this morning, investigators were sorting through twisted steel girders and interviewing drivers to piece together exactly what brought down the Interstate-5 Skagit River Bridge in Mount Vernon. More now from Northwest Public Radio’s Lucrezia Cuen.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 16:10:24 +0000 Lucrezia Cuen 28096 at http://nwpr.org Three Rescued In Bridge Collapse http://nwpr.org/post/three-rescued-bridge-collapse <p></p><p>An interstate 5 bridge collapsed into the Skagit River Thursday evening. The collapse sent tons of concrete and steel into the river, along with two vehicles and three people. Remarkably, no one died, and authorities say all three people rescued had only minor injuries.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 14:52:08 +0000 Gabriel Spitzer 28089 at http://nwpr.org