Investigation http://nwpr.org en Hard-Boiled Hero Jack Irish Lives, And Drinks, In A Shadowy Melbourne http://nwpr.org/post/hard-boiled-hero-jack-irish-lives-and-drinks-shadowy-melbourne Peter Temple writes prize-winning thrillers, four of them about his sometimes hapless investigator, Jack Irish. The books capture Melbourne, Australia: its pubs, racetracks, big boulevards rattling with traffic, and narrow alleys — called lanes — painted with graffiti.<p>Jack Irish was headed for a life as a successful suburban solicitor, or lawyer, when one of his criminal clients murdered Jack's wife, and Jack dropped the law to become a drunk. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:24:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 48414 at http://nwpr.org Hard-Boiled Hero Jack Irish Lives, And Drinks, In A Shadowy Melbourne FBI Sweep Helps Rescue Northwest Children Forced Into Prostitution http://nwpr.org/post/fbi-sweep-helps-rescue-northwest-children-forced-prostitution <p>Over the last few days you may have heard about the rescue of 105 children from sex trafficking. the FBI – in cooperation with the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children and local tasks forces conducted the sting. The FBI also worked with local police agencies- and helped recover victims who have been forced into prostitution and made arrests.</p><p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 14:02:48 +0000 Sara Lerner 31803 at http://nwpr.org CIA-Bound Ricin Letter Found In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/cia-bound-ricin-letter-found-spokane <p>The 5th letter in a ricin-poisoning investigation, addressed to the Central Intelligence Agency, has been retrieved in Spokane. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Tue, 11 Jun 2013 13:33:59 +0000 Paige Browning 29122 at http://nwpr.org Alaska Murder Suspect Commits Suicide, Confessed In Other Crimes http://nwpr.org/post/alaska-murder-suspect-commits-suicide-confessed-other-crimes <p>Investigators in Alaska are looking into whether a confessed killer has connections to murders in the Northwest and around the country. Israel Keyes died Sunday of an apparent suicide in an Anchorage jail cell after admitting to murdering a barista named Samantha Koenig and a Vermont couple. Daysha Eaton reports from the Alaska Public Radio Network. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 14:47:22 +0000 Daysha Eaton 19289 at http://nwpr.org Alaska Murder Suspect Commits Suicide, Confessed In Other Crimes One Patient Dead, Another Arrested At Eastern State Hospital http://nwpr.org/post/one-patient-dead-another-arrested-eastern-state-hospital <p>A patient was found dead early Tuesday at a psychiatric hospital in eastern Washington, leading to the arrest of patient in the same unit. The woman in custody is suspected of murder. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 14:06:58 +0000 Paige Browning 18721 at http://nwpr.org Senator Wyden Asks FBI For Sex Trafficking Data http://nwpr.org/post/senator-wyden-asks-fbi-sex-trafficking-data <p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden is asking the FBI to release data that some say could shed light on the murky world of child sex trafficking. Wyden made the request in letter addressed to FBI Director Robert Mueller. The Senator wants the FBI to release data on nearly 500 murders committed along the nation&#39;s highways. Most of the victims were women. Half of them are believed to have been prostitutes. Tue, 26 Jun 2012 13:12:19 +0000 David Nogueras 10639 at http://nwpr.org Western State Hospital CEO Resigns http://nwpr.org/post/western-state-hospital-ceo-resigns <p>The head of Washington&#39;s largest psychiatric hospital is stepping down. Western State Hospital CEO Jess Jamieson announced his resignation to hospital staff Tuesday. The announcement came as the Tacoma-area hospital deals with the aftermath of two patients&#39; violent deaths in April. KUOW&#39;s John Ryan has the story. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 13:29:45 +0000 John Ryan 9987 at http://nwpr.org Fish Fraud Sweep Mostly Good News For Consumers http://nwpr.org/post/fish-fraud-sweep-mostly-good-news-consumers <p>Dozens of state Fish and Wildlife officers fanned out to seafood retailers, wholesalers and exporters late last week. It was a coordinated West Coast sweep. The cops were looking for mislabeled fish, poached product and banned seafood. Correspondent Tom Banse reports if you&#39;re a fish consumer, the results are mostly encouraging. Wed, 13 Jun 2012 13:23:38 +0000 Tom Banse 9924 at http://nwpr.org After Investigation, Rescue Specialists Work To Save Animals http://nwpr.org/post/after-investigation-rescue-specialists-work-save-animals <p>ELK, Wash. -- A team of national animal rescue specialists have flown into Spokane to help relocate and treat about 75 horses, goats, and other animals. Paige Browning has more on a search warrant that led to a dire farm discovery. Mon, 27 Feb 2012 14:18:43 +0000 Paige Browning 3871 at http://nwpr.org After Investigation, Rescue Specialists Work To Save Animals Police Say Father Killed Two Sons And Himself In Fire http://nwpr.org/post/police-say-father-killed-two-sons-and-himself-fire <p>GRAHAM, Wash. &ndash; Police are investigating what they say is an intentional murder-suicide connected to a high-profile missing person&rsquo;s case. It happened near Graham, Washington Sunday. The suspect, Josh Powell, and his two young sons were found dead in their home after a blaze. Mon, 06 Feb 2012 16:00:41 +0000 Azusa Uchikura 2593 at http://nwpr.org Police Say Father Killed Two Sons And Himself In Fire