Mohamed Mohamud http://nwpr.org en Mohamud Jury Alternate Says Verdict No Surprise http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-jury-alternate-says-verdict-no-surprise <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With sentencing ahead for the man convicted of Portland's holiday tree-lighting bomb plot, those who watched the trial are processing its outcome. One alternate juror says she was not surprised at the verdict.</span></p><p> Sat, 02 Feb 2013 01:05:00 +0000 April Baer 22115 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Jury Alternate Says Verdict No Surprise Mohamud Guilty: Sentencing Set For May http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-guilty-sentencing-set-may <p>Sentencing is scheduled for May 14th for Mohamed Mohamud. The young Somali-American man &nbsp;has been convicted of trying to use a weapon of mass destruction. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 14:35:54 +0000 April Baer 22068 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Guilty: Sentencing Set For May Mohamud Closing Statements Revisit Evidence http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-closing-statements-revisit-evidence <p></p><p>The federal trial of a young man accused of trying to set off a bomb in downtown Portland is almost over. The jury began deliberating the case of Mohamed Mohamud late Wednesday afternoon. Closing statements focused narrowly on the evidence. Thu, 31 Jan 2013 01:56:19 +0000 April Baer 21989 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Closing Statements Revisit Evidence Defense Rests In Oregon Bomb Plot http://nwpr.org/post/defense-rests-oregon-bomb-plot <p>All that remains is closing statements in the trial of Mohamed Mohamud (mo-hah-MOOD). Jurors will soon decide whether the 21-year-old defendant was responsible for the bogus plot intended to kill thousands at Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square, or whether the FBI lured him into it. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports.<br>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 02:40:51 +0000 April Baer 21928 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: Botched Recording Takes Center Stage In Court http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-trial-botched-recording-takes-center-stage-court <p></p><p>A botched recording took center stage Friday morning at the trial of an Oregonian accused of a 2010 bomb plot. An FBI agent testified why a key face-to-face encounter was not recorded. Sat, 26 Jan 2013 00:21:34 +0000 April Baer 21759 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: Botched Recording Takes Center Stage In Court Mohamud Trial: FBI Agents Detail Involvement In Alleged Bomb Plot http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-trial-fbi-agents-detail-involvement-alleged-bomb-plot <p></p><p>Morning testimony in the trial of Mohamed Mohamud focused on some FBI agents involved in the case. Undercover agents worked with Mohamud on a plan to bomb Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square two years ago. The government says that while the device wasn't real, the threat posed by the defendant was. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 00:20:50 +0000 April Baer & April Baer 21638 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: FBI Agents Detail Involvement In Alleged Bomb Plot Defense Grills Operative On Underlying Motives http://nwpr.org/post/defense-grills-operative-underlying-motives <p>One of the operatives who worked with Mohamed Mohamud on a false plot said the defendant showed up with a complete plan. But defense attorneys are exploring potential problems with that story. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 14:17:38 +0000 April Baer 21378 at http://nwpr.org Defense Prods Operative On Sting Tactics http://nwpr.org/post/defense-prods-operative-sting-tactics <p>Attorneys for Mohamed Mohamud spent the morning poking holes in the government's claims that their client was dangerous. Mohamud was arrested in a sting operation. Prosecutors say he intended to kill thousands of people with a car bomb. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 14:00:06 +0000 April Baer & 21312 at http://nwpr.org FBI Employee Believed Mohamud Was Ready For Suicide Attack http://nwpr.org/post/fbi-employee-believed-mohamud-was-ready-suicide-attack <p></p><p>Tuesday prosecutors played video clips of undercover operatives working with Mohamed Mohamud. He's on trial for a plot to detonate a bomb in Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square two years ago. The entire operation was an FBI sting. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 00:00:28 +0000 April Baer 21237 at http://nwpr.org FBI Employee Believed Mohamud Was Ready For Suicide Attack Attorneys Paint Dueling Pictures Of Mohamud http://nwpr.org/post/attorneys-paint-dueling-pictures-mohamud <p>Attorneys laid out opening statements Friday in the trial of a young man accused of a bomb plot. The FBI enacted a sting operation that led to the arrest of Mohamed Mohamud. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports. Mon, 14 Jan 2013 14:14:21 +0000 April Baer 21133 at http://nwpr.org