Lawsuit http://nwpr.org en Age Discrimination Lawsuit Leaves Wounds In Seniors-Only Retirement Haven http://nwpr.org/post/age-discrimination-lawsuit-leaves-wounds-seniors-only-retirement-haven <p>When you approach your golden years, who doesn't look forward to peace and quiet surrounded by a supportive community? That desire led some retirees to relocate to a tiny town deep in the woods of southwest Washington. Ryderwood bills itself as the nation's first seniors-only retirement village. But the tranquility that lured people there went missing during a long and divisive lawsuit. The case questioned whether this 400 or so strong community could be so exclusive. It came replete with allegations of shunning, death threats, uncollected garbage and the tossing of a headless rabbit. Correspondent Tom Banse reports on the relief that has followed a settlement. Thu, 29 May 2014 13:09:18 +0000 Tom Banse 46666 at http://nwpr.org Age Discrimination Lawsuit Leaves Wounds In Seniors-Only Retirement Haven Victim Happy That Washington Filed Crowdfunding Lawsuit http://nwpr.org/post/victim-happy-washington-filed-crowdfunding-lawsuit <p>One of the victims of an alleged crowdfunding scam says he’s not counting on getting his money back. But he’s glad Washington’s attorney general has filed a consumer protection lawsuit. It’s believed to be the first state action against a crowdfunding project sponsor. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins has details. Fri, 09 May 2014 14:24:12 +0000 Austin Jenkins 45639 at http://nwpr.org DNR Files Lawsuit In Taylor Bridge Fire http://nwpr.org/post/dnr-files-lawsuit-taylor-bridge-fire <p>The Washington Department of Natural Resources has filed a lawsuit against two companies it says caused a massive wildfire outside Cle Elum, Washington, last summer.</p><p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 14:00:08 +0000 Courtney Flatt 29058 at http://nwpr.org DNR Files Lawsuit In Taylor Bridge Fire What A Golf Course Could Mean For Washington’s Groundwater http://nwpr.org/post/what-golf-course-could-mean-washington-s-groundwater <p>Northwest conservationists are suing Washington State University. They say the groundwater used to irrigate the University’s golf course is draining the region’s aquifer. But this case is about more than just watering the fairways and putting greens. It could change how cities and towns manage water for future development. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more.</p><p> Thu, 02 May 2013 13:58:25 +0000 Courtney Flatt 26856 at http://nwpr.org What A Golf Course Could Mean For Washington’s Groundwater Sea Shepherd Files Suit in Oregon To Freeze Assets Of Japanese Whaling Group http://nwpr.org/post/sea-shepherd-files-suit-oregon-freeze-assets-japanese-whaling-group <p>An anti-whaling group has filed a lawsuit in Oregon court in an effort to freeze the assets of a Japanese whaling fleet. EarthFix reporter Amelia Templeton says it’s the latest twist in a legal battle that began with a confrontation at sea. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 14:29:01 +0000 Amelia Templeton 22608 at http://nwpr.org Second Year Medical Program Nearly Funded In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/second-year-medical-program-nearly-funded-spokane <p></p><p>Dreams for a complete medical program in eastern Washington are becoming reality after Spokane’s Riverpoint campus received more than a million dollars from private sector donors. Construction for a medical sciences building is underway, meaning classrooms for a new second year medical program in the Fall.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 26 Nov 2012 15:08:29 +0000 Paige Browning 18899 at http://nwpr.org Second Year Medical Program Nearly Funded In Spokane City Of Seattle Settles Police Lawsuit http://nwpr.org/post/city-seattle-settles-police-lawsuit <p>The man who sued the Seattle police department over a racially charged threat has settled his case. The city of Seattle will pay him $150,000 but admit no wrongdoing. Martin Monetti&rsquo;s case helped prompt Justice Department scrutiny of Seattle police. KUOW&rsquo;s Amy Radil reports. Thu, 28 Jun 2012 13:14:13 +0000 Amy Radil 10781 at http://nwpr.org Miner’s Daughter Wants Company Held Responsible For Father’s Death http://nwpr.org/post/miner-s-daughter-wants-company-held-responsible-father-s-death <p>The daughter of a north Idaho miner killed in a tunnel collapse last year says federal regulators are failing to hold the company responsible. She says new fines do not do justice to her father&rsquo;s death. The federal government is proposing $360,000 in penalties related to an accident that killed Larry Marek. Correspondent Jessica Robinson reports. Tue, 05 Jun 2012 13:18:01 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9466 at http://nwpr.org DOJ Advises Supreme Court to Pass On Oregon Logging Roads Case http://nwpr.org/post/doj-advises-supreme-court-pass-oregon-logging-roads-case <p>The Supreme Court is being advised not to take on a controversial logging pollution lawsuit that began in Oregon. Amelia Templeton explains. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 13:12:56 +0000 Amelia Templeton 9270 at http://nwpr.org DOJ Advises Supreme Court to Pass On Oregon Logging Roads Case Spokane City Council Approves Zehm Death Settlement http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-city-council-approves-zehm-death-settlement <p>The Spokane City Council Monday night voted unanimously to approve a $1.67 million settlement between Otto Zehm&rsquo;s family and the city. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 14:28:15 +0000 Paige Browning 8792 at http://nwpr.org