Second Amendment http://nwpr.org en You Could Win A Gun If You Give This Candidate Your Contact Info http://nwpr.org/post/you-could-win-gun-if-you-give-candidate-your-contact-info <p>One candidate for an eastern Washington congressional seat has hit on a way to appeal to 2nd amendment advocates AND increase the names on his campaign mailing list. He’s offering voters a chance to win a gun. Jessica Robinson has more. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:19:36 +0000 Jessica Robinson 47720 at http://nwpr.org You Could Win A Gun If You Give This Candidate Your Contact Info Oregon Lawmakers Consider Slate Of Gun Bills http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-consider-slate-gun-bills <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/032813CL_gunbills.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. – Gun legislation is gaining momentum at the Oregon capitol. A Senate panel has scheduled a marathon hearing on a slate of measures that would require more background checks and limit where people could carry guns. The hearing is set for next Friday, April 5.<p>Senate Judiciary Committee Chair Floyd Prozanski has scheduled a three-and-a-half hour public hearing. Fri, 29 Mar 2013 13:41:25 +0000 Chris Lehman 25063 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Consider Slate Of Gun Bills Gun Control Advocates Regroup After Failed Bill http://nwpr.org/post/gun-control-advocates-regroup-after-failed-bill <p>Gun control advocates are regrouping this week. They’re looking at their options, now that a bill to broaden background checks for gun sales failed in the Washington legislature. They want to seize a moment when they believe public sentiment is on their side. KUOW’s Amy Radil reports.</p><p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:06:01 +0000 Amy Radil 24342 at http://nwpr.org Mandatory Background Checks For Gun Sales Dies In Washington House http://nwpr.org/post/mandatory-background-checks-gun-sales-dies-washington-house <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031213AJ_GunReferendum_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">OLYMPIA, Wash. – A controversial proposal to require criminal background checks for most gun purchases appears to have died in the Washington House. That announcement came Tuesday night after two days of efforts to wrangle enough votes to pass the measure.</span><p>For a time it looked like backers had the 50 votes they needed to pass the universal background check measure – if they agreed to send it to voters for final approval. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 13:26:11 +0000 Austin Jenkins 24205 at http://nwpr.org Mandatory Background Checks For Gun Sales Dies In Washington House Armed Gun Rights Advocates Rally At Washington Capitol http://nwpr.org/post/armed-gun-rights-advocates-rally-washington-capitol <p>Several hundred gun rights advocates – many of them armed – rallied at the Washington state Capitol Saturday. Their purpose was to protest any new gun control measures. Similar rallies were organized in Salem, Boise and Coeur d'Alene. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins reports. Mon, 21 Jan 2013 14:08:01 +0000 Austin Jenkins 21484 at http://nwpr.org Armed Gun Rights Advocates Rally At Washington Capitol Inslee Weighs In On Gun Control http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-weighs-gun-control <p>As the federal debate over assault weapons continues, Washington’s Governor-elect Jay Inslee weighed in on the matter in his first public comments since the election. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 14:06:15 +0000 Lisa Brooks 20969 at http://nwpr.org