Governor John Kitzhaber http://nwpr.org en Oregon Supreme Court Upholds Death Penalty Case http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-supreme-court-upholds-death-penalty-case <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon's Supreme Court has upheld the death penalty in a case involving the 2004 murder of an African immigrant. The ruling comes as capital punishment faces increased scrutiny nationwide after a botched execution by lethal injection in Oklahoma.</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 23:49:05 +0000 Chris Lehman 47761 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Supreme Court Upholds Death Penalty Case Oregon Tries New Health Care Benefits Model For Public Employees http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-tries-new-health-care-benefits-model-public-employees <p>Public workers in Oregon will soon receive health care under a new model that's meant to rein in costs. The Oregon Public Employees Benefits Board approved a plan that's similar to a type developed for Oregon's Medicaid enrollees.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 01:09:35 +0000 Chris Lehman 47642 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Tries New Health Care Benefits Model For Public Employees With Primary Over, Oregon Gubernatorial Candidates Look To November http://nwpr.org/post/primary-over-oregon-gubernatorial-candidates-look-november <p>This week's primary was mostly a formality for the two major party candidates for Oregon governor. Incumbent Democrat John Kitzhaber and Republican challenger Dennis Richardson both had little more than token opposition. The real match-up comes in the fall.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 00:13:04 +0000 Chris Lehman 46304 at http://nwpr.org With Primary Over, Oregon Gubernatorial Candidates Look To November Kitzhaber Claims Truce In Potentially Divisive Ballot Measures http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-claims-truce-potentially-divisive-ballot-measures <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030314CL_measures_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber says he's brokered a deal that will avoid a potentially divisive battle at the ballot box this fall.<p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 01:35:40 +0000 Chris Lehman 42259 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Claims Truce In Potentially Divisive Ballot Measures Kitzhaber Has 'Concerns' About Grocery Stores Liquor Sales http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-has-concerns-about-grocery-stores-liquor-sales <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/013014CL_kitzhaber_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber says he has concerns about proposals to allow grocery stores to sell hard liquor.<p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 00:32:05 +0000 Chris Lehman 40741 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Has 'Concerns' About Grocery Stores Liquor Sales Kitzhaber Expected To Announce Re-Election Bid http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-expected-announce-re-election-bid <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon Governor John </span>Kitzhaber<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is expected to announce a re-election bid Monday. The Democrat has scheduled an announcement Monday morning at a Portland elementary school where he says he'll discuss his plans for the coming year.</span></p><p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 14:36:57 +0000 Chris Lehman 38420 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Expected To Announce Re-Election Bid Southern Oregon County Considers Tax Increase For Public Safety http://nwpr.org/post/southern-oregon-county-considers-tax-increase-public-safety <p>Oregon’s special election concludes next week, and in Curry County on the south coast, voters will decide on a tax increase.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The county is facing a $2 million budget shortfall, and it could be the first place Governor Kitzhaber declares a public safety fiscal emergency.</span> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 00:58:01 +0000 Amelia Templeton 36614 at http://nwpr.org Southern Oregon County Considers Tax Increase For Public Safety Oregon And Washington Governors Agree To New Controls On Carbon Emissions http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-and-washington-governors-agree-new-controls-carbon-emissions <p>Governors John Kitzhaber of Oregon and Jay Inslee of Washington joined Gov. Jerry Brown of California and British Columbia Premier Christy Clark at a news conference in San Francisco. Together, they announced a shared set of goals for reducing carbon emissions in the region.</p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 00:05:13 +0000 Cassandra Profita 36427 at http://nwpr.org Oregon And Washington Governors Agree To New Controls On Carbon Emissions Oregon Special Session In Flux http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-special-session-flux <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/093013CL_specialdebrief.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>While gridlock continues in Washington, D.C., tensions have also surfaced in Salem. Oregon&#39;s special session hasn&#39;t gone according to plan.<p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 22:57:58 +0000 Chris Lehman 34998 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Special Session In Flux Kitzhaber Says He'll Call Special Session http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-says-hell-call-special-session <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/091813CL_special_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber says he'll call lawmakers back to Salem this month for a special session on taxes and public pensions.<p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 23:49:41 +0000 Chris Lehman 34386 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Says He'll Call Special Session