Clackamas http://nwpr.org en Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants http://nwpr.org/post/clackamas-watershed-collects-drinking-water-and-pollutants <p></p><p>On a nursery in Boring, researchers are demonstrating a new high-tech pesticide sprayer for a dozen growers. Oregon State University extension entomologist Robin Rosetta explains how this so-called “smart sprayer” uses a computerized sensor to detect the shape of plants and tell the nozzles on the machine where to spray and where not to spray.</p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 14:47:49 +0000 Cassandra Profita 32538 at http://nwpr.org Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants County Clerks Could Be Appointed Instead Of Elected http://nwpr.org/post/county-clerks-could-be-appointed-instead-elected <p>County clerks in Oregon would be appointed rather than elected under a measure in the Oregon legislature. A Committee in Salem heard testimony today on a proposed constitutional amendment.</p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:46:01 +0000 Virginia Alvino 24488 at http://nwpr.org County Clerks Could Be Appointed Instead Of Elected Summit On Gun Violence Focuses On Preparation http://nwpr.org/post/summit-gun-violence-focuses-preparation <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sheriffs, prosecutors, social service providers and others attended a&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">summit on gun violence Wednesday, convened by U.S.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Attorney Amanda Marshall. The sessions focused on mental health, the&nbsp;legal tools for &nbsp;disarming dangerous people and other public safety topics.</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 00:30:26 +0000 April Baer 22730 at http://nwpr.org Shootings Push Mental Health Into Spotlight In Salem http://nwpr.org/post/shootings-push-mental-health-spotlight-salem-0 <p>Recent mass shootings in Oregon and Connecticut have thrust mental health issues into the spotlight. Some Oregon lawmakers and mental health advocates hope there's enough momentum to keep the conversation front and center. Unlike gun control, there is a consensus that appears to be emerging on funding mental health programs. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 14:19:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 21601 at http://nwpr.org Shootings Push Mental Health Into Spotlight In Salem Man Says He's Shocked His Neighbor Was A Shooter http://nwpr.org/post/man-says-hes-shocked-his-neighbor-was-shooter <p>The man whom police believe killed two people and then turned his gun upon himself Tuesday has been identified at Jacob Tyler Roberts of southeast Portland.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 01:21:28 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 19711 at http://nwpr.org Police Say New Strategy Works With Mass Shootings http://nwpr.org/post/police-say-new-strategy-works-mass-shootings <p>Law enforcement officers are using Tuesday's response to the shooting at Clackamas Town Center in Portland as an example of a successful change in police strategy.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 01:15:38 +0000 TOL/Beth Hyams 19710 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Calls For Ban On Large Capacity Ammo Magazines http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-calls-ban-large-capacity-ammo-magazines <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">An Oregon lawmaker wants to ban high-capacity ammunition magazines in the wake of Tuesday's shooting at the Clackamas Town Center.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:51:15 +0000 Chris Lehman 19709 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Calls For Ban On Large Capacity Ammo Magazines Victims, Suspect Identified In Oregon Mall Shooting http://nwpr.org/post/victims-suspect-identified-oregon-mall-shooting <p>The Clackamas County Sheriff's department has identified victims of Tuesday's shooting at Clackamas Town Center mall.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:33:39 +0000 April Baer 19708 at http://nwpr.org Victims, Suspect Identified In Oregon Mall Shooting Mall Shooting Victim Expected To Survive http://nwpr.org/post/mall-shooting-victim-expected-survive <p>Two people, plus the suspected shooter, are dead after police say a gunman opened fire at a crowded shopping mall in suburban Portland Tuesday. An ambulance took one survivor of the attack to OHSU Medical Center in Portland. The young woman is expected to survive. Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 14:54:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 19677 at http://nwpr.org Mall Shooting Victim Expected To Survive People Run For Their Lives At Portland Mall Shooting http://nwpr.org/post/people-run-their-lives-portland-mall-shooting <p>Police say three people are dead, including the gunman, after a shooting at a shopping mall in suburban Portland. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:42:20 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 19655 at http://nwpr.org People Run For Their Lives At Portland Mall Shooting