Steelhead http://nwpr.org en Washington Fish Managers Halt Release Of Juvenile Steelhead http://nwpr.org/post/washington-fish-managers-halt-release-juvenile-steelhead <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State fish managers are halting their plans to release juvenile steelhead into Puget Sound rivers this spring.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This decision comes in response to a lawsuit filed by wild fish advocates.</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:22:17 +0000 Katie Campbell 43869 at http://nwpr.org Washington Fish Managers Halt Release Of Juvenile Steelhead Stalking Steelhead With Science http://nwpr.org/post/stalking-steelhead-science <p>Steelhead in Puget Sound have been listed as “threatened” under the Endangered Species Act since 2007.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Millions of dollars have been spent improving the habitat of this iconic fish, but the population isn’t increasing.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In fact, a lot of the fish aren’t even making it out of Puget Sound&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">and scientists can’t pinpoint why.</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 00:54:48 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 41314 at http://nwpr.org Stalking Steelhead With Science Feds Stand By Current Dam, Salmon Plan For Columbia http://nwpr.org/post/feds-stand-current-dam-salmon-plan-columbia <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The federal government Friday said its plan to protect the Columbia River’s endangered salmon and steelhead is working. That means little would change for dam operations on the West's biggest river.</span></p><p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 14:20:05 +0000 Courtney Flatt 40227 at http://nwpr.org Feds Stand By Current Dam, Salmon Plan For Columbia Putting The Spa in Spawn: Tribe Creates Refuge For Exhausted Fish http://nwpr.org/post/putting-spa-spawn-tribe-creates-refuge-exhausted-fish <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/102313AK_FishSpa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Yakama Nation’s steelhead reconditioning program is like a retreat spa for fish. And it's changing the circle of life for the species.<p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 23:28:29 +0000 Anna King 36184 at http://nwpr.org Putting The Spa in Spawn: Tribe Creates Refuge For Exhausted Fish New Sportfishing Fees Will Help Move Gill Nets Off The Columbia River http://nwpr.org/post/new-sportfishing-fees-will-help-move-gill-nets-columbia-river <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission Friday approved new fees for salmon, steelhead and sturgeon fishing in most of the state&#39;s non-coastal rivers.</span></p><p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 13:24:01 +0000 Cassandra Profita 35336 at http://nwpr.org New Sportfishing Fees Will Help Move Gill Nets Off The Columbia River Feds Say Dams Are Working Fine For Columbia Salmon http://nwpr.org/post/feds-say-dams-are-working-fine-columbia-salmon <p></p><p>Not much would change for dam operations on the Columbia River under the federal government’s new draft plan for protecting endangered salmon and steelhead.</p><p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 12:55:50 +0000 Courtney Flatt 33911 at http://nwpr.org Feds Say Dams Are Working Fine For Columbia Salmon Out-Dated Dam Killing Thousands Of Fish Near Tacoma http://nwpr.org/post/out-dated-dam-killing-thousands-fish-near-tacoma <p></p><p>Right now there are tens of thousands of salmon - including endangered species - dying at the base of an out-dated dam on the White River east of Tacoma. The Buckley Diversion Dam is blocking their homeward journey to spawn in the Mt. Rainier watershed. Local tribes say the federal government is failing in its responsibility to transport the fish around the dams on this river.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:58:21 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33409 at http://nwpr.org NOAA Asks for Input From NW Salmon Stakeholders http://nwpr.org/post/noaa-asks-input-nw-salmon-stakeholders <p>Environmentalists in the Northwest are being offered an expanded role in shaping the long-term recovery plan for salmon and steelhead in the Columbia Basin.</p><p>Earthfix reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 14:37:07 +0000 Aaron Kunz 19674 at http://nwpr.org NOAA Asks for Input From NW Salmon Stakeholders