Water http://nwpr.org en Study: Aquifers Draining Quickly, Less In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/study-aquifers-draining-quickly-less-northwest <p>A new study says the nation’s aquifers are shrinking at an alarming rate The problem is not as bad in the Northwest, thanks to an abundance of rivers and streams. But even here, aquifers are shrinking. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more.</p><p> Tue, 21 May 2013 13:31:16 +0000 Courtney Flatt 27887 at http://nwpr.org Study: Aquifers Draining Quickly, Less In Northwest Portland Prepares For Fluoride Vote  http://nwpr.org/post/portland-prepares-fluoride-vote <p>This month, voters will decide whether to approve a plan to fluoridate Portland's water. Supporters say Portland children - especially in low-income families - suffer aggravated dental problems because the city has chosen not to add fluoride. Opponents say water fluoridation is the wrong way to address a public health problem. And so a battle that has played out before at the state level is now going on in Portland.&nbsp;From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports.</p><p> Mon, 06 May 2013 13:40:07 +0000 April Baer 27037 at http://nwpr.org Portland Prepares For Fluoride Vote  Bend Council Moves Forward Toward Controversial $70M Water Project http://nwpr.org/post/bend-council-moves-forward-toward-controversial-70m-water-project <p>Wednesday night, the Bend City Council adopted a new plan laying out the future of the city's water systems. As Oregon Public Broadcasting's David Nogueras reports, the plan reiterates the council's intention to move ahead with a controversial overhaul of city's surface water system.</p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 13:11:26 +0000 24688 at http://nwpr.org Yakima Dairies Agree to Reduce Nitrate Contamination http://nwpr.org/post/yakima-dairies-agree-reduce-nitrate-contamination <p>Four Eastern Washington dairies have agreed to reduce pollution that’s been contaminating drinking water. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 14:25:38 +0000 Courtney Flatt 23892 at http://nwpr.org Project To Recharge Aquifers With Columbia River Water http://nwpr.org/post/project-recharge-aquifers-columbia-river-water <p></p><p>There’s not enough water in eastern Oregon for farmers and fish. Gov. John Kitzhaber designated one basin as a place to try a possible solution to this problem. At the Oregon Leadership Summit Monday, farmers and environmentalists talked about what’s being done. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 01:21:57 +0000 Courtney Flatt 19269 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Farmers Plant Wheat In Dust, Hope For Rain http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-farmers-plant-wheat-dust-hope-rain <p>Most of us may be enjoying the fall sunshine, but Northwest wheat farmers are instead wishing for a little rain. Correspondent Anna King caught up with one Northwest wheat grower in the vast Horse Heaven Hills near Prosser, Washington. Thu, 04 Oct 2012 13:20:12 +0000 Anna King 16232 at http://nwpr.org Anacortes City Council Approves Key Provision Towards Massive Manufacturing Plant http://nwpr.org/post/anacortes-city-council-approves-key-provision-towards-massive-manufacturing-plant <p>The nation’s largest water bottling plant could go up in Anacortes, Washington. The Anacortes City Council voted Monday on a key provision in the process towards bringing in some sort of new manufacturing facility. KUOW’s Sara Lerner reports. Thu, 27 Sep 2012 12:57:04 +0000 Sara Lerner 15867 at http://nwpr.org Portland Moves Forward On Fluoridation http://nwpr.org/post/portland-moves-forward-fluoridation Portland City Council has unanimously approved fluoridating the city's water system. April Baer of Oregon Public Broadcasting reports, a challenge to the plan has already been set in motion.  <p> About a dozen signs dotted the room, with opposition slogans like "Public water, public vote." Several hecklers were thrown out. <p> Council members including Amanda Fritz said they felt some concerns raised by opponents were valid.  <p> Fritz "I don't believe this measure is being funded by chemical companies, but I do recognize that there are people who are sensitive to fluoride. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 13:19:09 +0000 April Baer 15126 at http://nwpr.org State Changes Course On Water Regulation http://nwpr.org/post/state-changes-course-water-regulation The Department of Ecology recently decided not to change the fish consumption rate in Washington. The rate is important because it drives regulatory standards for water quality. In other words how much seafood we eat determines how clean our water is.Indian tribes and environmentalists say the current rate is dangerously low. Lesley McClurg explains. <p> Jim Peters has been a longtime fisherman. <p> Peters: "My kids, we eat a lot of fish, and shellfish. Wed, 22 Aug 2012 13:15:15 +0000 Lesley McClurg 13876 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Cities Debate Water Fluoridation http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-cities-debate-water-fluoridation <p>Across America, two-thirds of the population drinks water treated with fluoride. Oregon’s fluoridation rate is about 23 percent — 48th out of fifty states. Portland is now the largest city in the country without fluoridated water but a coalition of supporters is lobbying to change that. KLCC's Tiffany Eckert takes a look at this controversial subject. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 13:08:39 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 13745 at http://nwpr.org