oil transport http://nwpr.org en Despite Confidentiality Concerns, BNSF Will Report Oil Shipments To States http://nwpr.org/post/despite-confidentiality-concerns-bnsf-will-report-oil-shipments-states <p>BNSF Railway said it will comply with a Saturday federal deadline to provide states with information about the frequency and routes of oil trains from North Dakota and Montana.</p><p>The railroad made that announcement Friday even though Washington, Oregon and Idaho have balked at signing confidentiality agreements about the crude oil shipments.</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 23:45:24 +0000 Austin Jenkins 47126 at http://nwpr.org Despite Confidentiality Concerns, BNSF Will Report Oil Shipments To States Central Oregon Grapples With Rising Oil Train Safety Risks http://nwpr.org/post/central-oregon-grapples-rising-oil-train-safety-risks <p>U.S. Senator Ron Wyden will meet with emergency officials in Central Oregon this week to talk about oil train safety. For EarthFix, Cassandra Profita reports. Tue, 20 May 2014 14:27:49 +0000 Cassandra Profita 46194 at http://nwpr.org Central Oregon Grapples With Rising Oil Train Safety Risks State Senator: Oil Trains "Going To Be With Us For A While" http://nwpr.org/post/state-senator-oil-trains-going-be-us-while <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Environmental regulators in Washington state are expecting a lively crowd Thursday in the coastal city of </span>Hoquiam<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. The public gets a chance there to weigh in about increased crude oil train traffic.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 14:16:37 +0000 Tom Banse 44813 at http://nwpr.org Washington Legislature Fails To Pass Comprehensive Oil Train Legislation http://nwpr.org/post/washington-legislature-fails-pass-comprehensive-oil-train-legislation <p>More oil is moving through Washington state from the Bakken oil fields of North Dakota. That has many concerned about oil train safety. The oil has proven extremely flammable, causing several explosions in North America.</p><p>State legislators on both sides of the aisle introduced bills to address the concerns.</p><p>But the session ended last week without a compromise.</p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 14:09:49 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 42961 at http://nwpr.org Exploding Oil Trains Prompt More Stringent Safety Tests http://nwpr.org/post/exploding-oil-trains-prompt-more-stringent-safety-tests <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The U.S. Department of Transportation issued an emergency order Tuesday requiring crude oil from North Dakota and Montana to be tested before being transported by railroads.</span></p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 14:11:20 +0000 Tony Schick 42020 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Senators Propose Tax On Oil Train Shipments http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-senators-propose-tax-oil-train-shipments <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021814TW_Ericksen_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Powerful members of the Washington state Senate are on board with a plan to tax crude oil shipped into the state by rail. </span><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 14:27:14 +0000 editor 41668 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Senators Propose Tax On Oil Train Shipments Tesoro To Upgrade To Safer Oil Tankers http://nwpr.org/post/tesoro-upgrade-safer-oil-tankers <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The industry is responding after several derailments, fires and explosions involving trains hauling shipments of crude oil throughout North America. New plans are being announced to make tanker train cars safer.</span></p><p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 15:00:04 +0000 Courtney Flatt 41223 at http://nwpr.org Tesoro To Upgrade To Safer Oil Tankers Crude Oil Train Oversight Divides Washington Legislature http://nwpr.org/post/crude-oil-train-oversight-divides-washington-legislature <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020414TB_CrudeByRail_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>In Olympia, state lawmakers are going down divergent tracks in how to respond to the rapid increase of crude oil trains crossing the region.<p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 02:49:29 +0000 Tom Banse 40978 at http://nwpr.org Crude Oil Train Oversight Divides Washington Legislature New Legislation Calls For Transparency On Oil Moving Through Washington http://nwpr.org/post/new-legislation-calls-transparency-oil-moving-through-washington <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lawmakers in Olympia Wednesday held a hearing on a new bill concerning oil transport. More oil is moving into terminals and refineries in the state from the </span>Bakken<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;oil fields of North Dakota. That has politicians calling for oil companies to be more transparent.</span></p><p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 15:34:45 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40361 at http://nwpr.org Washington Environmental Groups’ Legislative Focus: Oil Trains http://nwpr.org/post/washington-environmental-groups-legislative-focus-oil-trains <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oil train safety tops the list of priorities for environmental groups. The groups outlined their goals Wednesday for Washington’s new legislative session.</span></p><p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 14:23:27 +0000 Courtney Flatt 40084 at http://nwpr.org