U.S. Fish and Wildlife http://nwpr.org en Feds Delay Controversial Decision On Pocket Gopher Protection http://nwpr.org/post/feds-delay-controversial-decision-pocket-gopher-protection <p></p><p>The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is postponing a controversial decision on whether to list the Mazama pocket gopher as a threatened species in the South Puget Sound area.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:46:59 +0000 Tom Banse 33408 at http://nwpr.org Feds Delay Controversial Decision On Pocket Gopher Protection Agency Allows Pesticides Use In Wildlife Refuge To Tackle Mosquito Problem http://nwpr.org/post/agency-allows-pesticides-use-wildlife-refuge-tackle-mosquito-problem <p></p><p>The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has agreed to allow Coos County to apply pesticides within the Bandon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge.</p><p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 14:04:54 +0000 Cassandra Profita 33274 at http://nwpr.org USFWS Proposes Killing Barred Owls In Four-Year Experiment http://nwpr.org/post/usfws-proposes-killing-barred-owls-four-year-experiment <p>The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service says today it will test removing barred owls to help the threatened spotted owl. The agency has proposed shooting barred owls in four study areas.</p><p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 23:26:15 +0000 Amelia Templeton 31431 at http://nwpr.org USFWS Proposes Killing Barred Owls In Four-Year Experiment So What Is The White Bluffs Bladderpod, And Why Does It Matter? http://nwpr.org/post/so-what-white-bluffs-bladderpod-and-why-does-it-matter <p></p><p>The White Bluffs bladderpod is a small flower facing some big issues.&nbsp; It’s a short plant with bright yellow flowers and small inflated pods – hence its name.&nbsp; At first glance, there’s nothing special about it.&nbsp; It isn’t edible and doesn’t have any herbal use that we know of.&nbsp;&nbsp; But the bladderpod is rare.&nbsp; It appears to grow only in a 17 mile long strip of federal lands in the Columbia Basin.&nbsp; Right now, U.S. Fish and Wildlife lists the bladderpod as “threatened.”&nbsp; They would like to list it as “endangered.”&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 16:47:17 +0000 Max Bartlett 31390 at http://nwpr.org So What Is The White Bluffs Bladderpod, And Why Does It Matter? Federal Protection For Bladderpod Plant Pushed Back http://nwpr.org/post/federal-protection-bladderpod-plant-pushed-back The federal government has pushed back the possible threatened listing of two rare plants that could affect farmers in southeast Washington. Umtanum desert buckwheat and the White Bluffs bladderpod have become very controversial, because part of the plants’ habitat spans valuable crop ground.<p>It’s a big topic of conversation at the Country Mercantile restaurant where many Franklin County farmers lunch. Ami MacHugh is an area cherry and horse farmer whose land could be affected by the possible federal protections.<p>She says even with the delayed decision she’s still upset. Wed, 22 May 2013 23:34:20 +0000 Anna King 27989 at http://nwpr.org Federal Protection For Bladderpod Plant Pushed Back Dozens Of Farmers Fight Threatened Designation Of Bladderpod http://nwpr.org/post/dozens-farmers-fight-threatened-designation-bladderpod <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051413AK_Bladderpod_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Farmers in southeast Washington packed a County Commission hearing Tuesday morning in Pasco. They’re angry because a flowering desert plant called the White Bluffs bladderpod may be designated as a federally threatened species by next week.<p>It likes to live on high desert bluffs near the Columbia River. Tue, 14 May 2013 22:59:52 +0000 Anna King 27534 at http://nwpr.org Dozens Of Farmers Fight Threatened Designation Of Bladderpod Feds To Relocate Rare Deer Threatened By Failing Dike http://nwpr.org/post/feds-relocate-rare-deer-threatened-failing-dike <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/01/011713TB_Deer_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal agency plans a major effort to preemptively rescue about 65 deer upriver from Astoria. The animals live on a floodplain beside the lower Columbia River.<p>These aren't just any deer. They're an endangered species: the Columbian white-tailed deer. One of this animal's strongholds is a national wildlife refuge near Cathlamet, Washington. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 00:32:48 +0000 Tom Banse 21359 at http://nwpr.org Feds To Relocate Rare Deer Threatened By Failing Dike Mazama Pocket Gopher Slated To Join Endangered Species List http://nwpr.org/post/mazama-pocket-gopher-slated-join-endangered-species-list <p></p><p>For the third time this fall, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is proposing to add a Northwest meadow critter to the endangered species list. This time, it's the Mazama pocket gopher. But, the listing is fairly limited. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 02:18:41 +0000 Tom Banse 19605 at http://nwpr.org Mazama Pocket Gopher Slated To Join Endangered Species List More State Forestland Protected For Spotted Owl In Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/more-state-forestland-protected-spotted-owl-oregon <p></p><p>The new map of protected habitat for the northern spotted owl affects far more state forestland in Oregon than in Washington or California. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 00:27:26 +0000 Rob Manning 19051 at http://nwpr.org More State Forestland Protected For Spotted Owl In Oregon Idaho Opens Wolf Trapping Season http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-opens-wolf-trapping-season <p></p><p>The gray wolf remains on state endangered species lists in Oregon and Washington. But in Idaho, the state opens wolf trapping season Thursday Nov. 15. In fact, Idaho plans to offer more tags than last year.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 15:13:32 +0000 Jessica Robinson 18350 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Opens Wolf Trapping Season