Global Warming http://nwpr.org en Entrepreneurs Looking For 'Windfall' Cash In On Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/entrepreneurs-looking-windfall-cash-climate-change <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1ltifF4gWU</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 18:57:00 +0000 editor 40615 at http://nwpr.org Entrepreneurs Looking For 'Windfall' Cash In On Climate Change Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-court-appeals-hears-climate-suit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two young Eugene women had their day in court Thursday in a lawsuit asking the state of Oregon to do more to prevent climate change. A three judge panel of the Oregon Court of Appeals heard arguments at the University of Oregon Law School in Eugene.</span></p><p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 00:11:42 +0000 Rachael McDonald 40119 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit Study: Comprehensive Climate Policy Needed http://nwpr.org/post/study-comprehensive-climate-policy-needed <p></p><p>Leaking tailpipes and wood-fired stoves are some of the culprits that release methane and soot into the atmosphere. Some researchers think cutting these emissions could significantly reduce global warming effects. But a Northwest study has found that it might not reduce effects that much.</p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 14:04:50 +0000 Courtney Flatt 32536 at http://nwpr.org Non-Profit Cuts Douglas Firs To Prepare The Ground For Redwood Clones http://nwpr.org/post/non-profit-cuts-douglas-firs-prepare-ground-redwood-clones <p>Redwoods grow where heavy fog rolls in from the Pacific. From Big Sur, California to Brookings, Oregon. Scientists don’t have a clear picture of how climate change will affect that coastal fog, and the giants that depend on it. But a group called Archangel Ancient Tree Archive has come up with an unusual plan to help the redwoods. It’s planting clones of some of the world’s largest trees. Amelia Templeton of EarthFix reports. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 15:41:53 +0000 Amelia Templeton 19962 at http://nwpr.org Non-Profit Cuts Douglas Firs To Prepare The Ground For Redwood Clones Oregon Researchers Find New Method To Reduce Carbon Emissions http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-researchers-find-new-method-reduce-carbon-emissions <p>University of Oregon researchers say they have found a way to reduce carbon dioxide emissions from coal-burning plants by more than 90 percent. Their formula uses refrigeration to capture and control the dangerous chemicals pumped out of smoke stacks. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 12:55:04 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 14215 at http://nwpr.org Study Indicates Some Animals Can't Outpace Climate Change http://nwpr.org/post/study-indicates-some-animals-cant-outpace-climate-change A study released Monday by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences indicates that some mammals might be unable to keep up with environmental changes. Aaron Kunz explains what that means for the Pacific Northwest. <p> The study looked at nearly 500 species in North and South America. It determined that close to 10 percent will not be able change habitat in order to keep pace with climate change. <p> Co-author Carrie Schloss is a researcher at the University of Washington. She says the animals most at risk live in tropical forests like those found in South America. Tue, 15 May 2012 13:09:26 +0000 Aaron Kunz 8329 at http://nwpr.org Rock Doc: Our Daily Bread In 2050 http://nwpr.org/post/rock-doc-our-daily-bread-2050 <p>One of my habits in recent years has been studying climate history in my free time. What can I say; it keeps me out of bars.</p><p>Recently, I was startled to learn that the temperatures experienced by American wheat farms back in the 1830s were almost 7 degrees warmer than they now are.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 13:46:48 +0000 Dr. Kirsten Peters 7270 at http://nwpr.org Rock Doc: Our Daily Bread In 2050 King County Does The Numbers On Greenhouse Gas Emissions http://nwpr.org/post/king-county-does-numbers-greenhouse-gas-emissions <p>SEATTLE - Washington&rsquo;s King County has released a detailed report that tallies up the total amount of Greenhouse Gases it emitted in 2008.</p><p>These emissions come from homes, industry, transportation &ndash; and our personal shopping decisions. And they are changing the global climate. Tue, 14 Feb 2012 02:32:34 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 3081 at http://nwpr.org NW Businesses Back Global Warming Bill http://nwpr.org/post/nw-businesses-back-global-warming-bill <p>SEATTLE - Business lobbies have pushed hard against global warming proposals in Congress. But a group of Northwest companies says tackling climate change will be good for business. They&#39;re calling on lawmakers to support an energy bill sponsored by Senators John Kerry and Joe Lieberman. Among the key elements of the proposal is a cap-and-trade system. It would make industries pay for the carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gasses they release into the atmosphere from burning fossil fuels. Sarah Severn with Nike says that&#39;s an important step toward a clean-energy economy.<br /> Fri, 03 Jun 2011 19:15:00 +0000 2382 at http://nwpr.org