Murder http://nwpr.org en For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder http://nwpr.org/post/one-crime-writer-peaceful-shetland-perfect-place-murder Crime writer Ann Cleeves puts it best in her novel <a href="http://www.npr.org/books/titles/329526105/dead-water-a-shetland-mystery" target="_blank">Dead Water</a>:<em> </em>"Shetland didn't do pretty. It did wild and bleak and dramatic."<p>The Shetland Islands are a damp and rocky place, with endless miles of green and gray. Humanity seems to cling to the land here like a few tenacious barnacles. "I love the idea of long, low horizons with secrets hidden underneath," Cleeves says.<p>These Scottish islands lie hundreds of miles from any mainland, as far north as the tip of Greenland. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:51:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 48759 at http://nwpr.org For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder Amanda Knox To Face Second Murder Trial http://nwpr.org/post/amanda-knox-face-second-murder-trial <p>Seattle native and University of Washington student Amanda Knox will stand trial in Italy for murder – again.</p><p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 14:23:38 +0000 Nick Dettorre 24863 at http://nwpr.org No Mercy For Serial Killer Yates By State High Court http://nwpr.org/post/no-mercy-serial-killer-yates-state-high-court <p>Washington State high court justices have brushed aside a long list of legal objections raised by Spokane multiple murderer Robert Yates in his effort to escape the death penalty. Spokane Public Radio's Tom Bacon reports.</p><p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:03:31 +0000 Tom Bacon 24341 at http://nwpr.org Search For Victims Lives On After Killer’s Death http://nwpr.org/post/search-victims-lives-after-killer-s-death <p>December, a suspected serial killer from Washington killed himself in a jail cell in Anchorage, Alaska. Israel Keyes’ suicide abruptly halted progress into uncovering one of the widest-ranging serial killing sprees in the U.S. Now, the FBI is trying to piece together exactly what he did. As Jessica Robinson reports, investigators are struggling to connect seemingly random dots that they hope will lead them to other victims. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 14:37:18 +0000 Jessica Robinson 21192 at http://nwpr.org Search For Victims Lives On After Killer’s Death Alaska Murder Suspect Commits Suicide, Confessed In Other Crimes http://nwpr.org/post/alaska-murder-suspect-commits-suicide-confessed-other-crimes <p>Investigators in Alaska are looking into whether a confessed killer has connections to murders in the Northwest and around the country. Israel Keyes died Sunday of an apparent suicide in an Anchorage jail cell after admitting to murdering a barista named Samantha Koenig and a Vermont couple. Daysha Eaton reports from the Alaska Public Radio Network. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 14:47:22 +0000 Daysha Eaton 19289 at http://nwpr.org Alaska Murder Suspect Commits Suicide, Confessed In Other Crimes One Patient Dead, Another Arrested At Eastern State Hospital http://nwpr.org/post/one-patient-dead-another-arrested-eastern-state-hospital <p>A patient was found dead early Tuesday at a psychiatric hospital in eastern Washington, leading to the arrest of patient in the same unit. The woman in custody is suspected of murder. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 14:06:58 +0000 Paige Browning 18721 at http://nwpr.org Spokane City Council Approves Zehm Death Settlement http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-city-council-approves-zehm-death-settlement <p>The Spokane City Council Monday night voted unanimously to approve a $1.67 million settlement between Otto Zehm&rsquo;s family and the city. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 14:28:15 +0000 Paige Browning 8792 at http://nwpr.org AP Report: Settlement Between UI And Family Of Slain Student http://nwpr.org/post/ap-report-settlement-between-ui-and-family-slain-student <p>The Associated Press reported Tuesday that the family of a University of Idaho graduate student murdered last August has agreed to a financial settlement with the university in a claim filed against the school. Katy Benoit&rsquo;s family had filed a three million dollar tort claim against the UI in December. Northwest Public Radio&rsquo;s Glenn Mosley recounts the events of last August in Moscow. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 13:10:59 +0000 Glenn Mosley 6816 at http://nwpr.org Pierce County Sheriff's Dept. Investigating Josh Powell Murder-Suicide http://nwpr.org/post/pierce-county-sheriffs-dept-investigating-josh-powell-murder-suicide <p>The Pierce County Sheriff&rsquo;s department is investigating a murder-suicide connected to a high-profile missing person&rsquo;s case. Tue, 07 Feb 2012 00:05:15 +0000 2628 at http://nwpr.org Pierce County Sheriff's Dept. Investigating Josh Powell Murder-Suicide Police Say Father Killed Two Sons And Himself In Fire http://nwpr.org/post/police-say-father-killed-two-sons-and-himself-fire <p>GRAHAM, Wash. &ndash; Police are investigating what they say is an intentional murder-suicide connected to a high-profile missing person&rsquo;s case. It happened near Graham, Washington Sunday. The suspect, Josh Powell, and his two young sons were found dead in their home after a blaze. Mon, 06 Feb 2012 16:00:41 +0000 Azusa Uchikura 2593 at http://nwpr.org Police Say Father Killed Two Sons And Himself In Fire