Northwest News http://nwpr.org en Study Says Poor Planning Contributes To Wildfire Costs http://nwpr.org/post/study-says-poor-planning-contributes-wildfire-costs <p>Wildfires in the West are getting bigger, hotter – and more costly. A new report from a national science advocacy group says climate change is one major reason wildfires are getting worse.</p><p>And short-sighted development policies are a big reason they’re costing more. Jefferson Public Radio’s Liam Moriarty explains. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:29:43 +0000 Liam Moriarty 49913 at http://nwpr.org Study Says Poor Planning Contributes To Wildfire Costs Washington Primary Will Winnow Crowded Fields http://nwpr.org/post/washington-primary-will-winnow-crowded-fields <p>Washington voters have until 8 p.m. Tuesday to turn in their primary ballots. Secretary of State Kim Wyman projects turnout of about 40 percent. Among others, the primary will winnow the crowded fields for an open central Washington Congressional seat and a Seattle-area state Senate position. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins has details. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:22:13 +0000 Austin Jenkins 49912 at http://nwpr.org Washington Primary Will Winnow Crowded Fields Washington AG Seeks to Defend Marijuana Law in Court http://nwpr.org/post/washington-ag-seeks-defend-marijuana-law-court <p>Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson is seeking to get involved in three lawsuits against cities that ban marijuana businesses.</p><p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 01:04:05 +0000 Amy Radil 49889 at http://nwpr.org Washington AG Seeks to Defend Marijuana Law in Court Hot Weather A Mixed Blessing For Farmers http://nwpr.org/post/hot-weather-mixed-blessing-farmers <p>This summer's hot, dry weather has been a mixed blessing for Northwest farmers.</p><p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 01:03:26 +0000 Chris Lehman 49893 at http://nwpr.org Hot Weather A Mixed Blessing For Farmers Jailed In Washington? You Have A Right To A Bail Bondsman http://nwpr.org/post/jailed-washington-you-have-right-bail-bondsman <p>If you happen to get arrested over the weekend in Washington, your right to a bail bondsman has just been upheld by the state Supreme Court.</p><p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 00:55:22 +0000 Austin Jenkins 49891 at http://nwpr.org Jailed In Washington? You Have A Right To A Bail Bondsman Capacci Says Ferries Back to Normal Saturday http://nwpr.org/post/capacci-says-ferries-back-normal-saturday <p>It's been a rough week for ferry users, but Washington State Ferries hopes to restore its Puget Sound service to normal by Saturday.</p><p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 00:55:16 +0000 Kim Malcolm 49890 at http://nwpr.org Capacci Says Ferries Back to Normal Saturday Oregon Terminal Developer Gets Blessing For Natural Gas Exports http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-terminal-developer-gets-blessing-natural-gas-exports <p>A proposed liquefied natural gas terminal near Astoria, Ore. <a href="http://energy.gov/articles/energy-department-conditionally-authorizes-oregon-lng-export-liquefied-natural-gas">received the U.S. government’s blessing</a> today to export to all overseas markets. That’s a necessary approval to make the controversial project pencil out. However, many hurdles remain.</p><p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 00:54:42 +0000 Tom Banse 49892 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Terminal Developer Gets Blessing For Natural Gas Exports Why Walla Walla’s Pioneer Park Aviary Could Close By End Of August http://nwpr.org/post/why-walla-walla-s-pioneer-park-aviary-could-close-end-august <p>Walla Walla’s Pioneer Park is known not for its trees or pond, but for its birds - dozens of them in cages or in large pond enclosures. For more than 30 years, it’s held a collection of peacocks, ducks, pheasants, and more. Now there’s a chance it could close at the end of August. Thu, 31 Jul 2014 13:23:46 +0000 Max Bartlett 49853 at http://nwpr.org Why Walla Walla’s Pioneer Park Aviary Could Close By End Of August Estimates Differ On How Much Tax Revenue Oregon's Marijuana Initiative Would Raise http://nwpr.org/post/estimates-differ-how-much-tax-revenue-oregons-marijuana-initiative-would-raise <p>Oregon’s legalized marijuana campaign says pot would generate about $39 million in tax revenue in its first year. Legislative revenue experts disagree. They say the money would be well below that at just over $9 million. The question is going before voters this fall.</p><p> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 01:03:52 +0000 Chris Lehman 49837 at http://nwpr.org Estimates Differ On How Much Tax Revenue Oregon's Marijuana Initiative Would Raise Northwest Farmers Worried About Visa Backup For Legal Migrant Workers http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-farmers-worried-about-visa-backup-legal-migrant-workers <p>A breakdown in a government computer system that processes foreign worker visas has sowed major worries at some Northwest orchards. Those farmers are concerned about getting enough pickers for late summer and fall crops.</p><p> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 01:03:45 +0000 Tom Banse 49838 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Farmers Worried About Visa Backup For Legal Migrant Workers