wolves http://nwpr.org en The Wolf At The Door: California Wrestles With A Predator’s Return http://nwpr.org/post/wolf-door-california-wrestles-predator-s-return <p>It’s been ninety years since the last native California wolf was trapped and killed. Last week, Oregon wildlife officials announced that OR-7, the wolf they’ve tracked wandering in and out of northern California, had found a mate and fathered a new litter in southern Oregon. That news contributes to the growing sense that it’s only a matter of time till wolves re-inhabit the Golden State. Against this backdrop, California wildlife officials extended endangered species status to the gray wolf. From Jefferson Public Radio, Liam Moriarty reports. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 14:43:05 +0000 Liam Moriarty 47355 at http://nwpr.org The Wolf At The Door: California Wrestles With A Predator’s Return Where, Oh Where Is OR-7? http://nwpr.org/post/where-oh-where-or-7 <p>Oregon’s famous wandering wolf OR-7 may soon be dropping off the maps.</p><p>State wildlife officials announced that they don’t plan to recollar the wolf – meaning that his future travels across the West wouldn’t be tracked.</p><p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 15:04:39 +0000 Devan Schwartz 43067 at http://nwpr.org Panel Finds Feds Didn't Use Best Science In Wolf Plan http://nwpr.org/post/panel-finds-feds-didnt-use-best-science-wolf-plan <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020714JR_WolfDelisting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A new independent review finds the federal government used uncertain science when it proposed taking the gray wolf off the endangered species list across the Lower 48.<p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 01:09:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 41144 at http://nwpr.org Panel Finds Feds Didn't Use Best Science In Wolf Plan Environmental Group Tries To Sabotage Wolf Hunting Season http://nwpr.org/post/environmental-group-tries-sabotage-wolf-hunting-season In Montana and Idaho, wolf hunting season is underway, and an environmental organization known for acts of civil disobedience is trying to disrupt the hunts. Earth First is circulating a manual that details among other things how to dismantle traps. Authorities say some of the tactics are illegal. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 08:31:00 +0000 Dan Boyce 34693 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Wolf Sanctuary Wins National Accreditation http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-wolf-sanctuary-wins-national-accreditation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/091813MB_WolfHaven_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Any animal organization can call itself a sanctuary, and many do.&#160;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">But only a few of those groups go through the American Sanctuary Association’s rigorous certification process.</span><p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 00:06:40 +0000 Miles BryanMiles Bryan 34389 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Wolf Sanctuary Wins National Accreditation States' Status Update On Wolf-Elk Relationship: It's Complicated http://nwpr.org/post/states-status-update-wolf-elk-relationship-its-complicated <p></p><p>The presence of wolves may mean hunters can't count on finding elk in favorite hunting spots … but that doesn’t necessarily mean there are fewer elk. That was the message from wildlife managers in three Northwest states Thursday in an online public meeting.</p><p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 12:55:15 +0000 Jessica Robinson 31209 at http://nwpr.org States' Status Update On Wolf-Elk Relationship: It's Complicated Oregon Wildlife Commissioners Revise State Wolf Plan http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-wildlife-commissioners-revise-state-wolf-plan <p>Oregon wildlife managers approved a plan Friday to allow ranchers and wildlife enforcement officers to once again kill wolves that prey livestock. EarthFix reporter Aaron Kunz explains.</p><p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 13:04:40 +0000 Aaron Kunz 30964 at http://nwpr.org Wolf Count: Numbers Up in Oregon, Washingon; Down In Idaho http://nwpr.org/post/wolf-count-numbers-oregon-washingon-down-idaho <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/04/WolfNumbers.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>There are fewer wolves overall in the West, but Oregon and Washington's wolf populations continue to grow. That's according to the federal government's annual gray wolf tally, released Friday. As Jessica Robinson reports, the count has also revealed the initial effect of a controversial wolf hunting season in Idaho.<p>In the 2011-12 season, Idaho hunters and trappers killed nearly 400 wolves. Tue, 16 Apr 2013 00:16:09 +0000 Jessica Robinson 25934 at http://nwpr.org Wolf Count: Numbers Up in Oregon, Washingon; Down In Idaho Washington Confirms ‘Wenatchee Wolf Pack’ http://nwpr.org/post/washington-confirms-wenatchee-wolf-pack <p>Washington officials confirmed a new wolf pack outside Wenatchee this week. But the pack has already run into trouble with ranchers.</p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 01:08:17 +0000 Courtney Flatt 24978 at http://nwpr.org Washington Confirms ‘Wenatchee Wolf Pack’ Testimony On Wolf Bill Includes Story Of Attack http://nwpr.org/post/testimony-wolf-bill-includes-story-attack <p>A public hearing Wednesday on a bill to allow people the right to protect livestock and pets from wolf attacks included the story of a very close wolf encounter near the town of Twisp.</p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 13:23:08 +0000 Steve Jackson 24691 at http://nwpr.org