Oregon http://nwpr.org en Northwest Wildfires Boost Call For Funding Reform http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-wildfires-boost-call-funding-reform <p>Fires continue to rage through tinder-dry wildlands in Oregon, Washington and California. Nearly a million acres have burned so far, destroying more than 200 homes.</p><p>With the nation’s eyes turned toward the Northwest, Oregon Senator Ron Wyden and the Obama Administration have taken the opportunity to renew their efforts to change how the federal government pays to fight -- and prevent – wildfires. From Jefferson Public Radio, Liam Moriarty explains. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:46:50 +0000 Liam Moriarty 49579 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Wildfires Boost Call For Funding Reform Oregon County Turns Public Health Function Over To State http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-county-turns-public-health-function-over-state <p>Counties across the Northwest are heavily dependent on timber revenue from federal lands have been struggling to provide public health services. Now, one county in Oregon has told the state it will no longer provide those services. That's left state officials scrambling to figure out how to cover the gap. Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 14:21:40 +0000 Chris Lehman 49517 at http://nwpr.org Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November http://nwpr.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-marijuana-legalization-november <p>Oregonians will decide in November whether to legalize recreational marijuana. An initiative to do just that qualified for the ballot Tuesday.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:22:24 +0000 Chris Lehman 49437 at http://nwpr.org Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November Some Of The Worst Fires In Northwest History http://nwpr.org/post/some-worst-fires-northwest-history <p>The Carlton Complex Fire in Okanogan County is now the worst fire in Washington history. It has burned more than 238,000 acres of land, and is believed to have destroyed between 150 and 200 homes, killing one person. As firefighters work to contain the blaze, we’d like to take a look at some of the other fires that have raged across the Northwest to see how it compares. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:02:50 +0000 Max Bartlett 49345 at http://nwpr.org Some Of The Worst Fires In Northwest History Vic Atiyeh, Former Oregon Governor, Dies At 91 http://nwpr.org/post/vic-atiyeh-former-oregon-governor-dies-91 <p>Former Oregon Governor Vic Atiyeh has died at the age of 91. The two-term Republican passed away Sunday evening at a Portland hospital of complications from renal failure. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:42:28 +0000 Chris Lehman 49344 at http://nwpr.org Vic Atiyeh, Former Oregon Governor, Dies At 91 Oregon Fire Displaces Sprague River Residents http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-fire-displaces-sprague-river-residents <p>A wildfire near the south-central Oregon town of Sprague River has destroyed as many as 20 homes and burned 2,500 acres.&nbsp;Red Cross volunteers have set up in the community center to help the victims of the Moccasin Hill Fire.</p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 01:23:20 +0000 Devan Schwartz 49095 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Fire Displaces Sprague River Residents Oregon Teachers To Face Exit Exams In Years To Come http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-teachers-face-exit-exams-years-come <p>This summer in Oregon, education leaders brought together teaching professors and school officials to improve teacher training. The June institute followed a national report, critical of training programs. And new teachers will soon be asked to pass a new standardized test. Think of it as a Common Core for teachers in training. Rob Manning has more. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:37:23 +0000 Rob Manning 48667 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Teachers To Face Exit Exams In Years To Come Oregon Marijuana Campaign Would Like Some Of Your Bitcoin Stash http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-marijuana-campaign-would-some-your-bitcoin-stash <p>An Oregon political campaign wants your digital donations. The group behind the initiative to legalize recreational marijuana says it's now accepting bitcoin contributions. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports on this new frontier in campaign finance. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 13:51:11 +0000 Chris Lehman 48509 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Marijuana Campaign Would Like Some Of Your Bitcoin Stash No Big Surprises On Signature Deadline Day http://nwpr.org/post/no-big-surprises-signature-deadline-day <p>The deadline to turn in signatures to qualify initiative petitions in Oregon produced no big surprises Thursday. But Oregonians could still have <a href="http://egov.sos.state.or.us/elec/web_irr_search.search_form">a range of controversial topics to decide this fall</a>.</p><p> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 00:52:19 +0000 Chris Lehman 48494 at http://nwpr.org No Big Surprises On Signature Deadline Day Farmers Urge EPA To "Ditch The Rule" http://nwpr.org/post/farmers-urge-epa-ditch-rule <p>And now a story about farmers and water. It’s a common and often contentious issue out here in the West. Well now farmers across the country are also riled up. That’s because the U.S. EPA wants to revise the clean water act. As Correspondent Chris Lehman explains depending on who you talk to these revisions are either a “land grab” under the “brute force” of the federal government or a simple clarification of rules that ensure all Americans have clean water to drink. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:35:14 +0000 Chris Lehman 48453 at http://nwpr.org Farmers Urge EPA To "Ditch The Rule"