environment http://nwpr.org en Hanford Vapors: It's Still Difficult To Track Down The Fix http://nwpr.org/post/hanford-vapors-its-still-difficult-track-down-fix <p>The federal government led a bus load of journalists to points across the Hanford nuclear site. Officials wanted to show off what they’re doing to keep workers safe from chemical vapors. Since the spring a run of workers have needed medical attention from vapor exposure. Correspondent Anna King was on the bus, and files this report. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:13:06 +0000 Anna King 48796 at http://nwpr.org Hanford Vapors: It's Still Difficult To Track Down The Fix Fire Season Starts Slowly In The Northwest, Nationally http://nwpr.org/post/fire-season-starts-slowly-northwest-nationally <p>The wildfire season is off a slow start in the U.S. and in the Northwest. Numbers from fire mangers show total fires and the number of acres burned are well below the 10 year average.</p><p>The National Interagency Fire Center in Boise says so far this year the number of fires is down by nearly 30 percent, and the number of acres burned is down by about 60 percent compared to the 10 year average.</p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 23:36:50 +0000 Scott Graf 48197 at http://nwpr.org Fire Season Starts Slowly In The Northwest, Nationally Federal Salmon Plan Heads Back To Courtroom http://nwpr.org/post/federal-salmon-plan-heads-back-courtroom <p>It’s back to court for the federal government and salmon advocates. Fish supporters Tuesday once again challenged the government’s plan to manage dams on the Columbia River and protect endangered salmon and steelhead. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:49:45 +0000 Courtney Flatt 47658 at http://nwpr.org Federal Salmon Plan Heads Back To Courtroom Redwood Burl Poaching Spreads To Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/redwood-burl-poaching-spreads-oregon <p>Redwood burl poaching has long been an issue in the Redwood National Park in California. But now a conservation group says it’s spotted evidence of this type of tree damage in a national forest in Oregon. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 23:16:14 +0000 Chris Lehman 47456 at http://nwpr.org Redwood Burl Poaching Spreads To Oregon Not Much Refuge In Klamath Basin For Migratory Birds http://nwpr.org/post/not-much-refuge-klamath-basin-migratory-birds <p>A prolonged drought is putting pressure on water supplies for the Klamath Basin’s wildlife refuges.</p><p>EarthFix’s Devan Schwartz reports on how the nation’s original waterfowl refuge may be too dry this summer to provide a stopover for millions of migratory birds. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 14:41:34 +0000 Devan Schwartz 47297 at http://nwpr.org Not Much Refuge In Klamath Basin For Migratory Birds Cut The Carp: Turning Around Malheur Refuge One Carp Carcass At A Time http://nwpr.org/post/cut-carp-turning-around-malheur-refuge-one-carp-carcass-time <p>What could be the largest carp removal project in history is underway at the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge in Southeast Oregon.</p><p>EarthFix’s Devan Schwartz reports on the attempts to curb the invasive fish that has destroyed bird habitat for decades. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 14:25:24 +0000 Devan Schwartz 47233 at http://nwpr.org Cut The Carp: Turning Around Malheur Refuge One Carp Carcass At A Time Regulators Discuss Future Of Coal In The West http://nwpr.org/post/regulators-discuss-future-coal-west <p>The Obama administration’s new rules to cut CO2 emissions sparked some interesting conversation in Seattle this week. At a conference held downtown, leaders in the energy sector gathered to talk about the future of coal in the West. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:03:56 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 47082 at http://nwpr.org Regulators Discuss Future Of Coal In The West Northwest Diesel Ownership Among Tops Nationally, Still Lags Behind Europe http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-diesel-ownership-among-tops-nationally-still-lags-behind-europe <p>Northwesterners love their diesel pickups. A new report by a diesel industry group shows Oregon and Idaho are in the top ten when it comes to highest rates of diesel vehicle ownership in the nation. But the overall rate pales in comparison to other parts of the world. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 14:34:51 +0000 Chris Lehman 47079 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Diesel Ownership Among Tops Nationally, Still Lags Behind Europe Young-Adult Cougars Looking For A Home Of Their Own Can Cause Problems http://nwpr.org/post/young-adult-cougars-looking-home-their-own-can-cause-problems <p>This time of year, young Northwest cougars are getting kicked out of the nest by their mother cats. That means many of these young adults are looking for their own home range. But these rookie hunters are in a cat-crowded field. That sometimes ends in trouble.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 00:10:47 +0000 Anna King 46943 at http://nwpr.org Young-Adult Cougars Looking For A Home Of Their Own Can Cause Problems Oregon Landowners Agree To Protect Sage Grouse http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-landowners-agree-protect-sage-grouse <p>One county in Southeastern Oregon has announced one of the largest land conservation agreements in the state to protect greater sage grouse. The birds live in sagebrush country, but their habitat is shrinking because of people, wildfires and invasive species.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 00:23:28 +0000 Courtney Flatt 46305 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Landowners Agree To Protect Sage Grouse