coal export terminals http://nwpr.org en Oregon Issues 3 Permits For Columbia River Coal Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-issues-3-permits-columbia-river-coal-terminal <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A proposal to transport coal down the Columbia River is one step closer to starting construction. Oregon environmental regulators Tuesday issued three permits for the Morrow Pacific project.</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 14:11:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 41329 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Issues 3 Permits For Columbia River Coal Terminal Goldman Sachs Backs Out Of Gateway Pacific Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/goldman-sachs-backs-out-gateway-pacific-terminal <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One of the key backers of the largest proposed coal export terminal in North America has just announced… they’re backing out. The Gateway Pacific Terminal could still be built near Bellingham, Washington.</span></p><p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 14:43:18 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 39728 at http://nwpr.org Comments On Longview Coal Export Project Reach 163,000 http://nwpr.org/post/comments-longview-coal-export-project-reach-163000 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A public comment period ended Monday in the environmental review of the Millennium coal export project in Longview, Washington. Officials have collected 163 thousand comments so far.</span></p><p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 14:18:29 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37536 at http://nwpr.org How Officials Manage To Review 200,000 Comments On Coal Exports http://nwpr.org/post/how-officials-manage-review-200000-comments-coal-exports <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Across the Northwest, thousands of people are weighing in on controversial new fossil fuel projects. Agencies have collected more than 200,000 public comments on coal export and oil-by-rail proposals. What happens to all those comments?</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 15:05:20 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37293 at http://nwpr.org The Little County Council Election That Could Mean Big Things For Coal Exports http://nwpr.org/post/little-county-council-election-could-mean-big-things-coal-exports <p>There&rsquo;s a county council election taking place in the far Northwest corner of Washington state that could play a major role in the future of the U.S. coal industry.<br /><br />Whatcom County could one day be the home of the largest coal export facility on the west coast &ndash; which would transfer coal from trains onto ships bound for Asia.<br /><br />The Whatcom County council could cast the deciding votes in the permitting of the Gateway Pacific Terminal.&nbsp; &nbsp;<br /><br />That&rsquo;s put this election in the spotlight.</p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:40:32 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 35854 at http://nwpr.org New Anti-Coal Coalition Launches http://nwpr.org/post/new-anti-coal-coalition-launches <p>A coalition of tribal leaders and politicians gathered at Golden Gardens in Seattle to<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Monday&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">to announce the formation of a new group that opposes coal exports in the Northwest.</span></p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 00:33:15 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 26319 at http://nwpr.org New Anti-Coal Coalition Launches Multnomah County Health Department Releases Coal Train Health Report http://nwpr.org/post/multnomah-county-health-department-releases-coal-train-health-report <p></p><p>A new report from the Multnomah County Health Department finds there's not enough industry data to say for sure what the health effects would be if trains begin to haul coal to export terminals in the Northwest. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 00:53:05 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 23619 at http://nwpr.org More Time To Comment On Morrow Pacific Coal Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/more-time-comment-morrow-pacific-coal-terminal-0 <p>The public is getting thirty more days to comment on a proposal to move coal through the Northwest.<br><br>The new public comment period begins December first for the Morrow Pacific coal project. It would transport coal by train to Boardman, Ore. From there, the coal would be loaded onto barges and shipped down the Columbia River.<br> Thu, 22 Nov 2012 14:41:59 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 18791 at http://nwpr.org Coal Export Opponents Seek Broader Environmental Impact Study http://nwpr.org/post/coal-export-opponents-seek-broader-environmental-impact-study <p></p><p>Government regulators want to know how exporting coal from Northwest ports could affect the environment. They are looking at several projects individually. A lot of people want them to conduct one big study. They want to know how the entire region would be affected if all the coal export terminals are built.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:19:49 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 18238 at http://nwpr.org Coal Export Opponents Seek Broader Environmental Impact Study