Oregon State University http://nwpr.org en Northwest Biologists Say Preserving Predators Is Critical http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-biologists-say-preserving-predators-critical <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In a paper published in the journal Science Thursday, biologists with University of Washington and Oregon State University make the case for protecting carnivores. They say that two thirds of the world’s largest predators are threatened. And losing them could trigger a cascade of effects.</span></p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 14:12:38 +0000 Amelia Templeton 39932 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Biologists Say Preserving Predators Is Critical Audit Finds Overpayments At University Of Oregon Research Unit http://nwpr.org/post/audit-finds-overpayments-university-oregon-research-unit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Secretary of State Kate Brown says a University of Oregon research department manipulated payroll in order to avoid mandatory furloughs and salary freezes imposed by the governor.</span></p><p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 23:06:55 +0000 Rachael McDonald 36610 at http://nwpr.org Audit Finds Overpayments At University Of Oregon Research Unit University Of Oregon Faculty Agree To Contract http://nwpr.org/post/university-oregon-faculty-agree-contract <p>The faculty union at the University of Oregon has settled its first contract with administrators.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">After ten months of bargaining, the United Academics at University of Oregon have reached a tentative agreement with the university. It's set to be ratified next month.</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 23:27:12 +0000 kateyhibbett 34443 at http://nwpr.org University Of Oregon Faculty Agree To Contract Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants http://nwpr.org/post/clackamas-watershed-collects-drinking-water-and-pollutants <p></p><p>On a nursery in Boring, researchers are demonstrating a new high-tech pesticide sprayer for a dozen growers. Oregon State University extension entomologist Robin Rosetta explains how this so-called “smart sprayer” uses a computerized sensor to detect the shape of plants and tell the nozzles on the machine where to spray and where not to spray.</p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 14:47:49 +0000 Cassandra Profita 32538 at http://nwpr.org Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants Wyden Looking For Klamath Basin's Solution http://nwpr.org/post/wyden-looking-klamath-basins-solution <p></p><p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden says he’s looking for permanent solution to the Klamath Basin’s regional water crisis in southern Oregon. And he says he wants it on his desk by September tenth. A group charged with finding those answers met Thursday in Klamath Falls.</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 15:22:55 +0000 Devan Schwartz 31928 at http://nwpr.org Wyden Looking For Klamath Basin's Solution What 3.6 Degrees Means For Snowpack In The Western Cascades http://nwpr.org/post/what-36-degrees-means-snowpack-western-cascades <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Rising temperatures will reduce the peak </span>snowpack<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> in the Cascades slopes east of Eugene by more than 50 percent. That’s according to a climate study Oregon State University researchers published today.</span></p><p> Thu, 25 Jul 2013 23:43:55 +0000 Amelia Templeton 31545 at http://nwpr.org What 3.6 Degrees Means For Snowpack In The Western Cascades University Of Oregon Softball Team Advances To The NCAA Tournament Super Regional http://nwpr.org/post/university-oregon-softball-team-advances-ncaa-tournament-super-regional <p>The University of Oregon softball team is going to the “NCAA Super Regional” after winning the Regional final Saturday in Eugene. The Ducks defeated Big 10 Conference Champions Wisconsin. KLCC's Jes Burns has more.</p><p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:59:42 +0000 Jes Burns 27824 at http://nwpr.org University Of Oregon Softball Team Advances To The NCAA Tournament Super Regional Dalai Lama Delivers Message of Compassion http://nwpr.org/post/dalai-lama-delivers-message-compassion <p>An estimated 11 thousand people heard Tibetan Spiritual leader, His Holiness the Dalai Lama, speak at the University of Oregon's Matthew Knight Arena Friday. His message: peace and compassion. KLCC's Rachael McDonald reports.</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 14:33:38 +0000 Rachael McDonald 27418 at http://nwpr.org Dalai Lama Delivers Message of Compassion The Ducks Are In The Sweet 16 http://nwpr.org/post/ducks-are-sweet-16 <p><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: normal;">The Ducks have made it to the sweet 16. The</span><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: normal;"> University of Oregon men's basketball team was seeded 12 in the NCAA Tournament. But they defeated fourth</span><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: normal;">&nbsp;seeded Saint Louis Saturday night, 74 - 57.</span></p><p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 23:29:57 +0000 Rachael McDonald 24833 at http://nwpr.org The Ducks Are In The Sweet 16 Universities Say Research Funding Cuts May Bring Job Cuts http://nwpr.org/post/universities-say-research-funding-cuts-may-bring-job-cuts <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/022513TB_Research_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Northwest's public universities pull in massive amounts of federal research dollars. It totaled $1 billion last year at the University of Washington. Oregon State University won close to $200 million in federal research funds. The University of Idaho is counting on $100 million this year. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 01:07:03 +0000 Tom Banse 23335 at http://nwpr.org Universities Say Research Funding Cuts May Bring Job Cuts