Soldier http://nwpr.org en Would-be Day Of Celebration In Bergdahl’s Hometown Passes Quietly http://nwpr.org/post/would-be-day-celebration-bergdahl-s-hometown-passes-quietly <p>A day of planned celebration of Bowe Bergdahl in his Idaho hometown turned out to be a pretty uneventful one. Hailey, Idaho, canceled Saturday’s event after the city received threats. Our correspondent Jessica Robinson has attended previous annual events for Bergdahl during his captivity and has more from Hailey. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 13:21:08 +0000 Jessica Robinson 48277 at http://nwpr.org Would-be Day Of Celebration In Bergdahl’s Hometown Passes Quietly Spokane Native Receives Medal Of Honor http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-native-receives-medal-honor <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/082613AJ_Obama_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Spokane native Ty Carter has received the nation’s highest military decoration.&#160;<p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 23:10:03 +0000 Austin Jenkins 33175 at http://nwpr.org Spokane Native Receives Medal Of Honor Other Than Honorable Veteran Gets Benefits, Second Vet Killed By Police http://nwpr.org/post/other-honorable-veteran-gets-benefits-second-vet-killed-police <p>A decorated combat veteran who lost his medical benefits when he was kicked out of the Army for misconduct has learned he will, in fact, qualify for health care from the Veterans Administration. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 16:46:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 14924 at http://nwpr.org Other Than Honorable Veteran Gets Benefits, Second Vet Killed By Police Northwest Soldier Booted From Army Will Recieve VA Benefits http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-soldier-booted-army-will-recieve-va-benefits <p>Former Staff Sgt. Jarrid Starks was initially barred from receiving VA health care. However, he recently learned he will now qualify for veterans’ benefits. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 16:44:01 +0000 Austin Jenkins 14925 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Soldier Booted From Army Will Recieve VA Benefits Panetta Visits U.S. Navy Troops in Bremerton http://nwpr.org/post/panetta-visits-us-navy-troops-bremerton <p><br><br>U.S. Defense Secretary Leon Panetta visited U.S. Navy troops in Bremerton Wednesday. More than 2,000 sailors lined up on the decks of the USS John C. Stennis to listen to parting words from the Defense Secretary. The speech was a send-off for men and women who are scheduled to be deployed to the Middle East next Monday.<br><br>The sailors rocked from foot to foot waiting for Secretary Panetta to arrive. The crowd had mixed emotions about leaving.<br> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 14:17:38 +0000 Lesley McClurg 13944 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Defense Attorneys To Meet With Bales In Kansas http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-defense-attorneys-meet-bales-kansas <p>FORT LEAVENWORTH, Kansas -- The man accused of killing 16 Afghan civilians has had a brief phone conversation with his wife and two children. But efforts are underway to arrange a face-to-face meeting. That&rsquo;s according to one of the attorneys for Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales. Correspondent Austin Jenkins reports Bales&rsquo; defense team will spend the next two days interviewing him at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.</p> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 12:27:36 +0000 Austin Jenkins 5108 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Defense Attorneys To Meet With Bales In Kansas Seattle Marine Killed in Afghanistan http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-marine-killed-afghanistan <p>SEATTLE -- A Marine sergeant from Seattle was killed this week in Afghanistan. An improvised explosive device killed 23-year-old Will Stacey in Afghanistan&#39;s Helmand province. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 13:57:54 +0000 Sueann Ramella 2367 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Marine Killed in Afghanistan