U.S. Department of Energy http://nwpr.org en BPA Shakeup In Wake Of Alleged Hiring Misdeeds http://nwpr.org/post/bpa-shakeup-wake-alleged-hiring-misdeeds <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">There's been a management shakeup at the Bonneville Power Administration. The U.S. Department of Energy replaced BPA's agency head and chief operating officer without explanation. The move came just before the Tuesday morning release of a damaging Inspector General report.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 23:19:15 +0000 Tom Banse 31073 at http://nwpr.org BPA Shakeup In Wake Of Alleged Hiring Misdeeds Washington State Officials 'Extremely Disappointed' Over Key Hanford Deadlines http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-officials-extremely-disappointed-over-key-hanford-deadlines-0 <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Washington Governor Jay Inslee and the state attorney general say they’re "extremely disappointed" that the U.S. Department of Energy may miss several key deadlines for cleanup at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation.</p><p> Fri, 07 Jun 2013 23:49:45 +0000 Anna King 28959 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Officials 'Extremely Disappointed' Over Key Hanford Deadlines Management Change For Hanford Treatment Plant http://nwpr.org/post/management-change-hanford-treatment-plant <p></p><p>A Hanford watchdog group is concerned with what it calls a “revolving door” for top managers at the nuclear site in southeast Washington.</p><p> Tue, 27 Nov 2012 00:47:37 +0000 Anna King 18933 at http://nwpr.org Management Change For Hanford Treatment Plant New Science Teams To Tackle Hanford Plant's Vexing Challenges http://nwpr.org/post/new-science-teams-tackle-hanford-plants-vexing-challenges <p></p><p>Energy Secretary Steven Chu is bolstering the scientific brain power at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation’s waste treatment plant. A memo released to employees Thursday says the aim is to solve nagging technical problems at the plant more quickly. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 01:13:35 +0000 Anna King 18107 at http://nwpr.org New Science Teams To Tackle Hanford Plant's Vexing Challenges Report: Hanford Unprepared For Early Start On Cleanup http://nwpr.org/post/report-hanford-unprepared-early-start-cleanup <p>A new report says plans to get an early start at cleaning up some radioactive waste at Hanford may not work the way managers envisioned. The document is the latest criticism of a project to treat waste at the southeast Washington nuclear site. Tue, 09 Oct 2012 23:58:40 +0000 Jessica Robinson 16483 at http://nwpr.org Report: Hanford Unprepared For Early Start On Cleanup Flammable Gas In Hanford Waste Tanks Concerns Nuclear Watchdog http://nwpr.org/post/flammable-gas-hanford-waste-tanks-concerns-nuclear-watchdog <p>A federal nuclear watchdog is pushing Hanford managers to come up with a fix for flammable gas that may be building up in underground waste tanks. This is the latest round of criticism of the nuclear reservation in southeast Washington. Wed, 03 Oct 2012 23:00:10 +0000 Anna King 16208 at http://nwpr.org Flammable Gas In Hanford Waste Tanks Concerns Nuclear Watchdog Gregoire Says Energy Secretary Chu 'Committed' To Hanford Work http://nwpr.org/post/gregoire-says-energy-secretary-chu-committed-hanford-work <p>Washington Gov. Chris Gregoire says she’s hoping the U.S. Secretary of Energy’s personal attention to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation can avert a lawsuit over cleanup delays there. She made the comments today after a speech about Hanford in the Tri-Cities in southeast Washington. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 01:39:05 +0000 Anna King 15409 at http://nwpr.org Gregoire Says Energy Secretary Chu 'Committed' To Hanford Work Energy Secretary, Experts Take Closer Look At Hanford's Black Cells http://nwpr.org/post/energy-secretary-experts-take-closer-look-hanfords-black-cells <p>The Hanford Nuclear Reservation&rsquo;s so-called &ldquo;black cells&rdquo; are getting another look from a new high-level group of experts. The announcement today from the U.S. Department of Energy comes just as the southeast Washington nuclear site implements new safety standards for non-radioactive risks. Thu, 02 Aug 2012 23:17:44 +0000 Anna King 12654 at http://nwpr.org Energy Secretary, Experts Take Closer Look At Hanford's Black Cells Report: Idaho National Lab Mishandled Dangerous Explosives http://nwpr.org/post/report-idaho-national-lab-mishandled-dangerous-explosives <p>Idaho National Laboratory in Idaho Falls has been failing to properly handle and store explosives, putting some workers in jeopardy. That&rsquo;s the upshot of a new report by the U.S. Department of Energy. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 23:14:49 +0000 Anna King 11355 at http://nwpr.org Report: Idaho National Lab Mishandled Dangerous Explosives