Senate http://nwpr.org en Wehby Defeats Conger In Oregon GOP Senate Primary http://nwpr.org/post/wehby-defeats-conger-oregon-gop-senate-primary <p>In Oregon's GOP Senate primary, Monica Wehby handily defeated Republican rival Jason Conger for the right to take on Democrat Jeff Merkley this fall. Wehby posted a wide margin of victory despite some last-minute embarrassing revelations. Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Wed, 21 May 2014 13:12:54 +0000 Chris Lehman 46257 at http://nwpr.org Wehby Defeats Conger In Oregon GOP Senate Primary Oregon Senate In ‘Holding Pattern’ As Injured Senator Mulls Comeback http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-senate-holding-pattern-injured-senator-mulls-comeback <p>A key Oregon state lawmaker could return to the capitol as early as this week. Democratic Senator Betsy Johnson broke her pelvis in a car accident last month. Her absence has delayed some potentially close votes. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports.</p><p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:55:09 +0000 Chris Lehman 27823 at http://nwpr.org Despite Pledge To Cooperate, Partisan Recriminations in Washington Senate http://nwpr.org/post/despite-pledge-cooperate-partisan-recriminations-washington-senate <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/030113AJ_PartisanRecriminations_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>OLYMPIA, Wash. - Three months ago, 23 Republicans and two breakaway Democrats seized control of the Washington state Senate. Mon, 04 Mar 2013 15:12:27 +0000 Austin Jenkins 23682 at http://nwpr.org Despite Pledge To Cooperate, Partisan Recriminations in Washington Senate Embattled Washington State Senator Defends Behavior http://nwpr.org/post/embattled-washington-state-senator-defends-behavior <p>A Washington state senator with a long record of reprimands for her treatment of staff is taking the offensive. Republican Pam Roach Thursday fired back at her accusers – they include some fellow Republicans. The move comes just as fresh allegations of staff mistreatment emerge. And a narrow majority coalition takes power in the Washington senate. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins reports. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 14:32:29 +0000 Austin Jenkins 21380 at http://nwpr.org Embattled Washington State Senator Defends Behavior Oregon Lawmakers To Be Sworn In http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-be-sworn <p>Oregon lawmakers return to Salem Monday for a legislative session that's expected to be full of debate over economic and public safety issues. Democrats will control both chambers of the legislature and the governor's office, but that doesn't mean there won't be disagreements. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Mon, 14 Jan 2013 14:22:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 21136 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers To Be Sworn In Secure Rural Schools Amendment Passes US Senate http://nwpr.org/post/secure-rural-schools-amendment-passes-us-senate <p>WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Oregon Senators, Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley, have secured their colleagues&#39; support of several million dollars in aid to counties in timber country. As Oregon Public Broadcasting&#39;s April Baer reports, the Senate voted 86 to 12 in favor of an amendment to extend the Secure Rural Schools Act. Fri, 09 Mar 2012 13:12:36 +0000 April Baer 4563 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Senate Votes To Approve Same-Sex Marriage http://nwpr.org/post/wash-senate-votes-approve-same-sex-marriage <p>OLYMPIA, WASH. &ndash; The battle to allow gay marriage in Washington has cleared a major hurdle. The Washington state Senate voted [last night] Wednesday night to approve same-sex marriage. The vote was 28 to 21. Four Republicans voting with the majority. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins was there for the historic debate. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 14:04:52 +0000 Austin Jenkins 2368 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Senate Votes To Approve Same-Sex Marriage Gay Marriage Passes Wash. Senate After Civil Debate http://nwpr.org/post/gay-marriage-passes-wash-senate-after-civil-debate <p>OLYMPIA, Wash. &ndash; Four Washington Republicans joined majority Democrats Wednesday night to approve a same-sex marriage bill in the state Senate. The historic vote represents a major step forward for gay rights supporters. Olympia Correspondent Austin Jenkins was there for the debate. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 13:53:52 +0000 Austin Jenkins 2366 at http://nwpr.org Gay Marriage Passes Wash. Senate After Civil Debate