coal http://nwpr.org en Regulators Discuss Future Of Coal In The West http://nwpr.org/post/regulators-discuss-future-coal-west <p>The Obama administration’s new rules to cut CO2 emissions sparked some interesting conversation in Seattle this week. At a conference held downtown, leaders in the energy sector gathered to talk about the future of coal in the West. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:03:56 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 47082 at http://nwpr.org Regulators Discuss Future Of Coal In The West Oregon Issues 3 Permits For Columbia River Coal Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-issues-3-permits-columbia-river-coal-terminal <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A proposal to transport coal down the Columbia River is one step closer to starting construction. Oregon environmental regulators Tuesday issued three permits for the Morrow Pacific project.</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 14:11:03 +0000 Courtney Flatt 41329 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Issues 3 Permits For Columbia River Coal Terminal Goldman Sachs Backs Out Of Gateway Pacific Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/goldman-sachs-backs-out-gateway-pacific-terminal <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One of the key backers of the largest proposed coal export terminal in North America has just announced… they’re backing out. The Gateway Pacific Terminal could still be built near Bellingham, Washington.</span></p><p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 14:43:18 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 39728 at http://nwpr.org Comments On Longview Coal Export Project Reach 163,000 http://nwpr.org/post/comments-longview-coal-export-project-reach-163000 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A public comment period ended Monday in the environmental review of the Millennium coal export project in Longview, Washington. Officials have collected 163 thousand comments so far.</span></p><p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 14:18:29 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37536 at http://nwpr.org How Officials Manage To Review 200,000 Comments On Coal Exports http://nwpr.org/post/how-officials-manage-review-200000-comments-coal-exports <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Across the Northwest, thousands of people are weighing in on controversial new fossil fuel projects. Agencies have collected more than 200,000 public comments on coal export and oil-by-rail proposals. What happens to all those comments?</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 15:05:20 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37293 at http://nwpr.org County Council Election Results Show No Love For Coal http://nwpr.org/post/county-council-election-results-show-no-love-coal <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It was called "the obscure county election that could change the planet". The Whatcom County Council election has been in the spotlight this fall because the council will eventually decide whether to approve or deny some key permits for the largest coal export terminal on the West coast.</span></p><p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 14:09:26 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 36935 at http://nwpr.org New Research Provides More Evidence Of Coal Dust Escaping From Trains http://nwpr.org/post/new-research-provides-more-evidence-coal-dust-escaping-trains <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Washington and Oregon consider proposals for three coal export terminals, many have raised questions about how much coal dust could come off the trains that would service those terminals. If the Gateway Pacific Terminal is built near Bellingham up to 18 coal trains could travel along the I-5 corridor every day. According to new research, some dust will escape from those trains.</span></p><p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 14:05:38 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 36813 at http://nwpr.org New Research Provides More Evidence Of Coal Dust Escaping From Trains The Little County Council Election That Could Mean Big Things For Coal Exports http://nwpr.org/post/little-county-council-election-could-mean-big-things-coal-exports <p>There&rsquo;s a county council election taking place in the far Northwest corner of Washington state that could play a major role in the future of the U.S. coal industry.<br /><br />Whatcom County could one day be the home of the largest coal export facility on the west coast &ndash; which would transfer coal from trains onto ships bound for Asia.<br /><br />The Whatcom County council could cast the deciding votes in the permitting of the Gateway Pacific Terminal.&nbsp; &nbsp;<br /><br />That&rsquo;s put this election in the spotlight.</p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:40:32 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 35854 at http://nwpr.org Hundreds Turn Out For SW Wash. Coal Hearing http://nwpr.org/post/hundreds-turn-out-sw-wash-coal-hearing <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Around 800 people turned out for a coal export project hearing in Ridgefield, Washington Wednesday.</span></p><p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 13:54:49 +0000 Cassandra Profita 35515 at http://nwpr.org Comments On Coal Trains Brings Out Hundreds In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/comments-coal-trains-brings-out-hundreds-spokane <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">About 450 people turned out for the public hearing in Spokane last night on a proposed coal shipping facility in southwest Washington. It was the second of five statewide hearings hosted by the state Department of Ecology, Army Corps of Engineers, and </span>Cowlitz<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> County.</span></p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 13:36:47 +0000 Paige Browning 34848 at http://nwpr.org