oregon politics http://nwpr.org en GOP State Representative Aims To Unseat Senator Merkley http://nwpr.org/post/gop-state-representative-aims-unseat-senator-merkley <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/101513CL_senaterace_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The partial government shutdown and possible default this week loomed over an announcement Tuesday from the highest-profile challenger in next year&#8217;s U.S. Senate race in Oregon.<p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 23:28:57 +0000 Chris Lehman 35763 at http://nwpr.org GOP State Representative Aims To Unseat Senator Merkley Merkley Draws First Challenger In 2014 Senate Race http://nwpr.org/post/merkley-draws-first-challenger-2014-senate-race <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/081613CL_perkins_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon Democratic U.S. Senator Jeff Merkley has drawn his first challenger for the 2014 U.S. Senate race. Republican businesswoman Jo Rae Perkins announced Friday that she's seeking the GOP nomination in next year's election.<p>Perkins has never held elected office but has chaired the Linn County Republican Party.<p>In a press conference outside the Oregon capitol in Salem, Perkins described herself as socially and fiscally conservative. "I'm not an elitist. Sat, 17 Aug 2013 00:24:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 32695 at http://nwpr.org Merkley Draws First Challenger In 2014 Senate Race Oregon K-12 Budget Hits Legislative Roadblock http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-k-12-budget-hits-legislative-roadblock <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/06/061713CL_schoolbudget_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The largest portion of the Oregon state spending plan hit a major roadblock in the legislature Monday.<p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 00:03:53 +0000 Chris Lehman 29512 at http://nwpr.org Oregon K-12 Budget Hits Legislative Roadblock Hobbyists Welcome Proposed Changes To Drone Legislation http://nwpr.org/post/hobbyists-welcome-proposed-changes-drone-legislation <p>People who fly unmanned aircraft for fun say new changes to an Oregon drone bill have addressed their concerns. An Oregon Senate panel will consider the measure Wednesday.</p><p> Sat, 16 Mar 2013 00:34:52 +0000 Chris Lehman 24389 at http://nwpr.org Oregon House Control Likely To Return To Democrats http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-house-control-likely-return-democrats <p></p><p>Democrats are optimistic they have won the majority in the Oregon House. The chamber has been evenly divided for the last two years, and both parties campaigned furiously to break the log jam.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 14:00:07 +0000 Virginia Alvino 18060 at http://nwpr.org Oregon House Control Likely To Return To Democrats Hales Wins Landslide In Portland Mayoral Race http://nwpr.org/post/hales-wins-landslide-portland-mayoral-race <p>Voters have chosen Charlie Hales as Portland's next Mayor. Unofficial results show Hales coasting to a 62 percent lead over Jefferson Smith, with a significant write-in vote at nearly 8 percent.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 15:35:54 +0000 April Baer 17987 at http://nwpr.org Hales Wins Landslide In Portland Mayoral Race Oregon State Sen. Frank Morse To Resign http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-state-sen-frank-morse-resign <p>Long-time Oregon state Sen. Frank Morse says will resign his seat. In an emotional speech on the floor of the state Senate Friday, Morse said he no longer has the energy for what he called a “marathon with no finish line.” Fri, 14 Sep 2012 23:40:44 +0000 Colin Fogarty 15216 at http://nwpr.org Oregon State Sen. Frank Morse To Resign