students http://nwpr.org en Kids Take On Washington Legislature In Picking New State Symbols http://nwpr.org/post/kids-take-washington-legislature-picking-new-state-symbols <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012914TW_Nelson_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington may get at least two new official state symbols, thanks to some young students.<p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 14:07:36 +0000 Taylor Winkel 40704 at http://nwpr.org Kids Take On Washington Legislature In Picking New State Symbols Oregon Teen Faces Charges In School Attack Plot http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-teen-faces-charges-school-attack-plot <p>An Oregon teenager will be in court Tuesday on charges that he was planning to set off bombs at his high school. The court appearance comes on the same day that students return to West Albany High School for the first time since police uncovered the alleged plot. Correspondent Chris Lehman reports.</p><p> Mon, 27 May 2013 13:08:40 +0000 Chris Lehman 28219 at http://nwpr.org Washington Bill Would Excuse Religious Students During Holidays http://nwpr.org/post/washington-bill-would-excuse-religious-students-during-holidays <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031513AKoly_Exemptions_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>OLYMPIA, Wash. – Students would be able to take up to two days off per year for religious holidays under a proposal in Olympia. A hearing is scheduled Monday on a bill that would benefit Muslim students celebrating Ramadan.<p>State Sen. Bob Hasegawa represents Tukwila, Wash. He describes it as a “one of the most ethnically and culturally diverse districts” around. Mon, 18 Mar 2013 13:20:13 +0000 Alexandra Kocik 24445 at http://nwpr.org Students & Fire Chief Advocate For CPR As A Graduation Requirement http://nwpr.org/post/students-fire-chief-advocate-cpr-graduation-requirement <p>Oregon high school students would be required to learn CPR to get a diploma, under a bill being considered by state lawmakers. A group of students were in Salem&nbsp;Wednesday to lobby on the issue. Virginia Alvino reports. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 14:32:17 +0000 Virginia Alvino 19735 at http://nwpr.org Students & Fire Chief Advocate For CPR As A Graduation Requirement Idaho Rejects Teacher Pay Reforms And Classroom Technology Laws http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-rejects-teacher-pay-reforms-and-classroom-technology-laws <p>Idaho voters delivered a resounding defeat to three new education laws. Voters said no to limits on teacher bargaining rights, to creating a pay-for-performance system and to ramping up classroom technology. Opponents were successful, in part, by billing the laws as an attack on teachers.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:27:40 +0000 Jessica Robinson 17995 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Rejects Teacher Pay Reforms And Classroom Technology Laws Insurer Fined For Charging Wash. Students Incorrect Rates http://nwpr.org/post/insurer-fined-charging-wash-students-incorrect-rates <p>OLYMPIA, Wash. &ndash; The Washington state insurance commissioner has fined an Indiana company $100,000 for charging Washington college students the wrong rates.<br /> Thu, 26 Jan 2012 14:43:03 +0000 Sueann Ramella 2047 at http://nwpr.org Insurer Fined For Charging Wash. Students Incorrect Rates