U.S. Army http://nwpr.org en Umatilla Depot: More Staff Reduction As Military Site Nears Final Cleanup http://nwpr.org/post/umatilla-depot-more-staff-reduction-military-site-nears-final-cleanup <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>Umatilla<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Chemical Depot is nearing final cleanup. It letting go of 60 more workers Thursday. The northeast Oregon military site is where tons of deadly chemical weapons were stored for decades.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 01:24:56 +0000 Anna King 42108 at http://nwpr.org Umatilla Depot: More Staff Reduction As Military Site Nears Final Cleanup Seattle Soldier Gets Medal of Honor from President and Wants to Re-up http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-soldier-gets-medal-honor-president-and-wants-re <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Seattle soldier received the nation&rsquo;s highest military honor Tuesday from President Obama.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Army Captain William D. Swenson was awarded the Medal of Honor for repeatedly running into the line of fire during a 2009 battle in Afghanistan to rescue fellow soldiers.</span></p><p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 00:25:15 +0000 Lisa Brooks 35764 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Soldier Gets Medal of Honor from President and Wants to Re-up Demolition Of Oregon Chemical Weapons Site On Schedule http://nwpr.org/post/demolition-oregon-chemical-weapons-site-schedule <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/091113AK_McCune_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Just as international talks ramp up about chemical weapons in Syria, the last remaining signs of similar deadly munitions in the Northwest are going away.<p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 22:59:51 +0000 Anna King 34017 at http://nwpr.org Demolition Of Oregon Chemical Weapons Site On Schedule Northwest Soldier Homecomings Signal End Of War In Afghanistan http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-soldier-homecomings-signal-end-war-afghanistan <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/07/071013AJ_StrykerUnit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>For more than a decade, Washington’s Joint Base Lewis-McChord has been sending soldiers off to war and welcoming them back home. Now this cycle of deployments and homecomings is winding down.<p>Over the next month, more than 1,000 soldiers from the 4th Stryker Brigade will return home. More than 200 were welcomed back Wednesday. And this time they don’t expect to go back to Afghanistan.<p>In many ways, this homecoming is like all the others. There’s an Army band. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 00:06:54 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30750 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Soldier Homecomings Signal End Of War In Afghanistan Bowe Bergdahl's Parents Confirm New Correspondence http://nwpr.org/post/bowe-bergdahls-parents-confirm-new-correspondence <p>Parents of captured Sergeant Bowe Bergdahl recently had some good news. The family says they received a handwritten letter from their son, who's been held as a prisoner of war by the Taliban for almost four years.</p><p> Fri, 07 Jun 2013 13:01:13 +0000 Frankie Barnhill 28899 at http://nwpr.org Guilty Verdict At JBLM In Trial Of Sgt. Accused of Baghdad Shooting Spree http://nwpr.org/post/guilty-verdict-jblm-trial-sgt-accused-baghdad-shooting-spree <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051313TB_Guilty_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A case that featured harrowing testimony of combat-related mental illness ended Monday with a guilty verdict. Army Sergeant John Russell was convicted for murdering five fellow servicemen at a military mental health clinic in Baghdad in 2009.<p>A military judge found the 48-year-old Texas native guilty of premeditated murder. Mon, 13 May 2013 22:49:21 +0000 Tom Banse 27462 at http://nwpr.org From Soldier To Double-Amputee To Pro Athlete http://nwpr.org/post/soldier-double-amputee-pro-athlete <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/021313TB_Amputee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>KETCHUM, Idaho - A winter's worth of racing and training for the best disabled skiers and shooters culminates later this month at the Paralympic Nordic World Championships in Sweden. For the first time, the U.S. team headed to the competition is made up entirely of disabled veterans. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 23:56:16 +0000 Tom Banse 22729 at http://nwpr.org From Soldier To Double-Amputee To Pro Athlete JBLM Soldiers Don't Expect 'Rush' Of Females To Combat Roles http://nwpr.org/post/jblm-soldiers-dont-expect-rush-females-combat-roles <p></p><p>Two themes emerged from a roundtable of mostly female soldiers at the U.S. Army's biggest West Coast post. Joint Base Lewis-McChord organized the panel Thursday to speak on the Pentagon's decision to allow women into combat roles. Fri, 25 Jan 2013 01:37:27 +0000 Tom Banse 21702 at http://nwpr.org Mid-Air Crash At JBLM Brought Down Helicopters In 2011 http://nwpr.org/post/mid-air-crash-jblm-brought-down-helicopters-2011-0 <p></p><p>A new Army report confirms it was a mid-air crash that brought down two Army helicopters at Washington’s Joint Base Lewis-McChord a year ago. It happened during a night vision training exercise. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 01:42:46 +0000 Austin Jenkins 20679 at http://nwpr.org Mid-Air Crash At JBLM Brought Down Helicopters In 2011 Sgt. Bales' State Of Mind Is Key To His Defense In War Crime Case http://nwpr.org/post/sgt-bales-state-mind-key-his-defense-war-crime-case <p>In eight days of hearings, Army prosecutors outlined in grisly detail the case against Staff Sgt. Robert Bales. He’s the Washington soldier charged with killing and wounding 23 Afghan civilians in a rampage this past March. Bales’ pretrial hearing concluded Tuesday at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Now the Army will decide whether the evidence supports a full court martial and, if so, whether the death penalty is appropriate in this case.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 14:34:22 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18343 at http://nwpr.org Sgt. Bales' State Of Mind Is Key To His Defense In War Crime Case