Congress http://nwpr.org en Congressman Clyburn Reflects On A Life Of 'Blessed Experiences' http://nwpr.org/post/congressman-clyburn-reflects-life-blessed-experiences Transcript <p>MICHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is TELL ME MORE from NPR News. I'm Michel Martin. If you follow politics at all, then you probably know that Congressman James Clyburn is one of the most powerful people on Capitol Hill. Mon, 12 May 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 45768 at http://nwpr.org Rep. Keith Ellison Wonders Why 'People Care' About His Muslim Faith http://nwpr.org/post/rep-keith-ellison-wonders-why-people-care-about-his-muslim-faith <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHqKp_V93pg</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:30:00 +0000 editor 42151 at http://nwpr.org Rep. Keith Ellison Wonders Why 'People Care' About His Muslim Faith The Politics Of Passing 1964's Civil Rights Act http://nwpr.org/post/politics-passing-1964s-civil-rights-act Martin Luther King may not have had a vote in Congress, but he and the movement he helped lead were integral to getting the civil rights bill introduced. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 17:02:00 +0000 editor 40234 at http://nwpr.org The Politics Of Passing 1964's Civil Rights Act Don't Hate The Players, Learn The Rules Of The Game (Theory) http://nwpr.org/post/dont-hate-players-learn-rules-game-theory This week, Congress has been pondering yet another deal with a deadline. Congressional leaders have agreed to a bipartisan budget that would set spending levels for the next two years, and if it passes, as expected, it would mark the first bipartisan budget deal since 2011. News of the deal comes again at the last minute, just as Congress begins packing its bags to adjourn for the holidays.<p>For many, though, several questions may remain. Why do our elected officials spend so much time hammering out these deals? Why do they seem so tortured? Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:48:00 +0000 editor 38633 at http://nwpr.org Don't Hate The Players, Learn The Rules Of The Game (Theory) U.S. Senate To Hold Hearing On State Pot Legalization http://nwpr.org/post/us-senate-hold-hearing-state-pot-legalization <p></p><p>Syria’s not the only issue on the agenda in Congress this week. So is marijuana. The Senate Judiciary committee will hold a hearing Tuesday on the conflict between federal law and pot legalization in Washington and Colorado.</p><p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 13:07:02 +0000 Austin Jenkins 33913 at http://nwpr.org Washington Representative Smith Undecided On Syria Action http://nwpr.org/post/washington-representative-smith-undecided-syria-action <p>Members of Congress are hearing arguments today on whether military action should be taken against Syrian President Bashar Al-Assad .</p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 00:03:09 +0000 Amina al-Sadi 33594 at http://nwpr.org Washington Representative Smith Undecided On Syria Action Oregon's Schrader Opposes Strike On Syria http://nwpr.org/post/oregons-schrader-opposes-strike-syria <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">President Obama is looking for support among members of Congress for limited military action in Syria.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 23:56:25 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 33593 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Schrader Opposes Strike On Syria Washington Congressmembers Mostly Holding Their Fire on Syria Vote http://nwpr.org/post/washington-congressmembers-mostly-holding-their-fire-syria-vote <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/090313TB_WAsyria_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Members of Congress from Washington state are mostly undecided ahead of an expected vote next week to authorize military force against Syria.<p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 23:45:25 +0000 Tom Banse 33592 at http://nwpr.org Washington Congressmembers Mostly Holding Their Fire on Syria Vote Idaho's Republicans In Congress Aren't Sold On Syria Action http://nwpr.org/post/idahos-republicans-congress-arent-sold-syria-action <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/090313JR_IdahoOnSyria_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Members of Idaho's all-Republican congressional delegation aren't yet committing to a position on military action in Syria. But the direction most are leaning is against a resolution authorizing President Obama to use air strikes.<p>A spokesman for Sen. Mike Crapo says the Idaho Republican is skeptical of authorizing military force at this point, especially without a broad international coalition.<p>Crapo’s colleague, Sen. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 23:26:47 +0000 Jessica Robinson 33591 at http://nwpr.org Idaho's Republicans In Congress Aren't Sold On Syria Action Hydropower Bills Open Gates Of Bipartisanship In Congress http://nwpr.org/post/hydropower-bills-open-gates-bipartisanship-congress-1 <p>An effort to streamline the regulatory process for small hydropower dams is generating a rare moment of bipartisanship in Congress. Two bills sailed through a Senate committee Wednesday. They've already passed the House. Correspondent Jessica Robinson has more.</p><p> Thu, 09 May 2013 15:48:34 +0000 Jessica Robinson 27233 at http://nwpr.org Hydropower Bills Open Gates Of Bipartisanship In Congress