Terrorism http://nwpr.org en The Winding Stories Of A Quintessential American Spy http://nwpr.org/post/winding-stories-quintessential-american-spy Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. On April 18th, 1983, President Ronald Reagan addressed the nation about news that had broken earlier that morning in Lebanon.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED SPEECH)<p>PRESIDENT RONALD REAGAN: As you know, our embassy in Beirut was the target this morning of a vicious terrorist bombing. This cowardly act has claimed a number of killed and wounded. Tue, 20 May 2014 00:54:00 +0000 editor 46276 at http://nwpr.org During World War I, Germany Unleashed 'Terrorist Cell In America' http://nwpr.org/post/during-world-war-i-germany-unleashed-terrorist-cell-america In the early years of World War I, as many as 1,000 American horses per day were shipped off to Europe to assist in the Allied war effort, even though the United States was officially neutral. Those horses became the target of germ warfare, infected with anthrax cultures on American soil; at the same time, mysterious explosions were rocking U.S. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 19:23:00 +0000 editor 41986 at http://nwpr.org During World War I, Germany Unleashed 'Terrorist Cell In America' CIA Lawyer: Waterboarding Wasn't Torture Then And Isn't Torture Now http://nwpr.org/post/cia-lawyer-waterboarding-wasnt-torture-then-and-isnt-torture-now In the years following the Sept. 11 attacks, many Americans heard the term "waterboarding" for the first time — a technique aimed to simulate the act of drowning. Waterboarding was at the center of the debate about what the CIA called "enhanced interrogation techniques" — and what critics called "torture."<p>John Rizzo, acting general counsel of the CIA in the years after Sept. 11, 2001, has written a memoir about his three decades at the agency. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:19:00 +0000 NPR Staff 39702 at http://nwpr.org CIA Lawyer: Waterboarding Wasn't Torture Then And Isn't Torture Now Idaho Soldier's Captor Reportedly Killed In Drone Strike http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-soldiers-captor-reportedly-killed-drone-strike <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/090613JR_KidnapperKilled_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to news reports out of Pakistan, a U.S. drone attack has reportedly killed the militant commander believed to be holding Idaho soldier Bowe Bergdahl captive.<p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 22:55:05 +0000 Jessica Robinson 33782 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Soldier's Captor Reportedly Killed In Drone Strike CIA-Bound Ricin Letter Found In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/cia-bound-ricin-letter-found-spokane <p>The 5th letter in a ricin-poisoning investigation, addressed to the Central Intelligence Agency, has been retrieved in Spokane. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Tue, 11 Jun 2013 13:33:59 +0000 Paige Browning 29122 at http://nwpr.org Boise Man Arrested On Terrorism Charges http://nwpr.org/post/boise-man-arrested-terrorism-charges <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051613JR_TerrorArrest_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal agents arrested a man in Idaho Thursday suspected of conspiring to support a terrorist organization in Central Asia. Thirty-year-old Fazliddin Kurbanov is from Uzbekistan and lives in Boise.<p>Two federal grand juries – one in Idaho and one in Utah – handed down a total of four terrorism-related charges against Kurbanov. Federal authorities say he attempted to help the Islamic Movement of Uzbekistan with money and computer software between August 2012 and May 2013. Fri, 17 May 2013 00:25:25 +0000 Jessica Robinson 27676 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terrorism Plot After Police Destroy Evidence http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-man-gets-18-years-terrorism-plot-after-police-destroy-evidence <p>A Seattle man received an eighteen-year prison sentence on terrorism charges on Monday. He was convicted of plotting to attack a military installation in Seattle. KUOW’s John Ryan reports from Seattle.</p><p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 14:30:18 +0000 John Ryan 24865 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terrorism Plot After Police Destroy Evidence Portland Terrorism Suspect Released To Await Trial http://nwpr.org/post/portland-terrorism-suspect-released-await-trial <p>The Portland city employee who was charged this week with aiding terrorism has been released to await his trial. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 01:52:16 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 23938 at http://nwpr.org Portland Employee Faces Terrorism Charge http://nwpr.org/post/portland-employee-faces-terrorism-charge <p>Portland city employee Reaz Qadir Khan was arrested Tuesday on charges of conspiring to provide "material support" to terrorists. &nbsp;As Kristian Foden-Vencil reports, the US Department of Justice alleges&nbsp;he helped a terrorist plan a deadly suicide attack in Lahore, Pakistan in 2009. Wed, 06 Mar 2013 14:43:58 +0000 Kristian Fodel-Vencil 23819 at http://nwpr.org Defense Prods Operative On Sting Tactics http://nwpr.org/post/defense-prods-operative-sting-tactics <p>Attorneys for Mohamed Mohamud spent the morning poking holes in the government's claims that their client was dangerous. Mohamud was arrested in a sting operation. Prosecutors say he intended to kill thousands of people with a car bomb. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 14:00:06 +0000 April Baer & 21312 at http://nwpr.org