Eugene http://nwpr.org en Official Declares Tent Camp in Plaza a Public Health Risk http://nwpr.org/post/official-declares-tent-camp-plaza-public-health-risk <p>The tent camp at The Wayne Morse Free Speech Plaza in Eugene has been declared a "public health risk" by Lane County's Public Health Officer. The Board of Commissioners has called an emergency meeting for next Wednesday to consider closing the plaza.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 23:57:43 +0000 Rachael McDonald 33448 at http://nwpr.org Northwesterners Face Proposal For Eight-Story Cell Tower In Their Neighborhood http://nwpr.org/post/northwesterners-face-proposal-eight-story-cell-tower-their-neighborhood <p></p><p>AT&amp;T is moving forward with a proposal to put a cell phone tower on the grounds of a Eugene church.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 13:21:05 +0000 Jordana Gustafson 32820 at http://nwpr.org Northwesterners Face Proposal For Eight-Story Cell Tower In Their Neighborhood Lane County Public Safety Measure Passes http://nwpr.org/post/lane-county-public-safety-measure-passes <p>The Lane County levy for jail and youth services passed with 56%. KLCC’s Lucy Ohlsen was at the yes-on-213 watch party, where Sheriff Thomas Turner celebrated with supporters.</p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:32:36 +0000 Lucy Ohlsen 27948 at http://nwpr.org Eugene Voters Soundly Defeat City Fee Ballot Measure http://nwpr.org/post/eugene-voters-soundly-defeat-city-fee-ballot-measure <p>Eugene voters soundly defeated a ballot measure that would have imposed a monthly fee on residents to help pay for public safety and social services. KLCC’s Angela Kellner reports.</p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:26:00 +0000 Angela Kellner 27946 at http://nwpr.org Eugene Social Justice Groups Mark May Day With March And Rally http://nwpr.org/post/eugene-social-justice-groups-mark-may-day-march-and-rally <p>Several social justice groups marked International Workers Day with a march and rally through downtown Eugene Wednesday night. As KLCC’s Jes Burns reports, earlier in the day lawyers filed a motion to dismiss charges against homeless rights advocates arrested during a protest in January.</p><p> Thu, 02 May 2013 13:45:06 +0000 Jes Burns 26852 at http://nwpr.org Eugene City Council: Yes On Bag Ban, No On Coal Trains http://nwpr.org/post/eugene-city-council-yes-bag-ban-no-coal-trains <p>The Eugene City Council approved an ordinance banning single-use plastic bags. The vote Monday night also imposes a 5-cent minimum fee for paper bags at the check-out. KLCC’s Jes Burns reports.</p><p>The new law is intended to encourage the use of reusable bags at grocery and other retail establishments in Eugene. Councilors, with a tie breaking vote from Mayor Kitty Piercy, voted down an amendment that would have made the fee on paper bags optional. Councilor Alan Zalenka argued the change would not have created the same outcome.</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2012 13:37:16 +0000 Jes Burns 17177 at http://nwpr.org