National Park Service http://nwpr.org en Idaho Man Gets 9 Months Hard Time For Rock Theft http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-man-gets-9-months-hard-time-rock-theft <p>A man who supplied decorative stone to Boise-area lawns was sentenced to nine months in prison for rock theft. Turns out, the sandstone he sold to landscapers came from federal land. Idaho’s U.S. attorney says it’s an important case, even though the stolen goods were only worth $1,500.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 01:15:26 +0000 Jessica Robinson 44733 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Man Gets 9 Months Hard Time For Rock Theft National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown http://nwpr.org/post/national-parks-report-nearby-towns-lost-nearly-500m-october-shutdown <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030314JR_NationalParks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to a National Park Service report, <a href="http://www.nature.nps.gov/socialscience/docs/Economic2013ShutdownReport_Final_nrss_VSE.pdf">towns around national parks lost an estimated $414 million</a> during the partial government shutdown last October.<p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:19:25 +0000 Jessica Robinson 42258 at http://nwpr.org National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown Visitors Return, But Economic Damage Done As Northwest National Parks Reopen http://nwpr.org/post/visitors-return-economic-damage-done-northwest-national-parks-reopen <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/101713AJ_ShutdownParks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>From Crater Lake to Mt. Rainier, visitors wasted no time returning to the Northwest&#8217;s national parks and monuments.<p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 23:53:40 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35884 at http://nwpr.org Visitors Return, But Economic Damage Done As Northwest National Parks Reopen Government Shutdown Sows Confusion Among Motorists And Workers http://nwpr.org/post/government-shutdown-sows-confusion-among-motorists-and-workers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100313TB_Wold_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The National Park Service Thursday tried to sort out confusion among motorists about the extent of the partial government shutdown: State highways crossing federal land remain open to thru traffic.<p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 22:56:06 +0000 Tom Banse 35194 at http://nwpr.org Government Shutdown Sows Confusion Among Motorists And Workers Shutting National Parks No Fun For Rangers Or Visitors http://nwpr.org/post/shutting-national-parks-no-fun-rangers-or-visitors <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100113TB_ParkClosed_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The effects of the partial federal government shutdown are rippling across the Northwest.<p> Wed, 02 Oct 2013 00:11:39 +0000 Tom Banse 35083 at http://nwpr.org Shutting National Parks No Fun For Rangers Or Visitors Partial Government Shutdown Fouls Up Park Visits http://nwpr.org/post/partial-government-shutdown-fouls-park-visits <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/093013TB_Shutdown.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Closed national parks will be one of the first visible effects of the partial government shutdown expected to begin Tuesday. National forest and BLM campgrounds will also close.<p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 00:41:45 +0000 Tom Banse 35002 at http://nwpr.org Partial Government Shutdown Fouls Up Park Visits Park Service Investigates What Led Ranger To Shoot Boater http://nwpr.org/post/park-service-investigates-what-led-ranger-shoot-boater <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/091713JR_ParkShooting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The National Park Service is investigating what led a park ranger to shoot a man at Lake Roosevelt National Recreation Area near Kettle Falls in eastern Washington over the weekend.<p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 23:08:04 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34329 at http://nwpr.org Park Service Investigates What Led Ranger To Shoot Boater Mt. Rainier Rescues Will Take Longer http://nwpr.org/post/mt-rainier-rescues-will-take-longer <p></p><p>Mount Rainier park rangers are warning it may take longer than usual to rescue stranded climbers.</p><p> Thu, 25 Jul 2013 15:39:59 +0000 Gabriel Spitzer 31507 at http://nwpr.org How Possible Budget Cuts Could Change Your Vacation Plans http://nwpr.org/post/how-possible-budget-cuts-could-change-your-vacation-plans <p></p><p>Automatic budget cuts could affect your vacation plans. That’s because the U.S. Department of Interior says those cuts will reduce what national parks can spend if Congress doesn’t come to an agreement by Friday. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 00:20:56 +0000 Courtney Flatt 23463 at http://nwpr.org How Possible Budget Cuts Could Change Your Vacation Plans Oregon History Buffs Dismiss California's Drake Landmark http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-history-buffs-dismiss-californias-drake-landmark <p>Some Northwest history buffs say a newly designated historic landmark in California does not settle a heated debate over where a British explorer landed more than four centuries ago. Interior Secretary Ken Salazar named a site north of San Francisco as the possible landing spot of Sir Francis Drake. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 00:12:32 +0000 Colin Fogarty 17159 at http://nwpr.org Oregon History Buffs Dismiss California's Drake Landmark