Robert Bales http://nwpr.org en Expert: Bales Massacre Won’t Go Down In History Like My Lai http://nwpr.org/post/expert-bales-massacre-won-t-go-down-history-my-lai <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/082313AJ_WarCrimes_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The case of Sgt. Robert Bales – sentenced Friday to life in prison without parole - will be remembered in the villages of southern Afghanistan.<p>But according to a military justice expert at Yale Law School, this war crime won’t go down in the history books as others - like the My Lai massacre in Vietnam - have.<p>Eugene Fidell teaches the My Lai massacre in his military justice class at Yale Law. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 23:00:30 +0000 Austin Jenkins 33064 at http://nwpr.org Expert: Bales Massacre Won’t Go Down In History Like My Lai Afghan Massacre Survivors Take Stand At Bales Sentencing http://nwpr.org/post/afghan-massacre-survivors-take-stand-bales-sentencing <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/08/082013AJ_JenkinsJBLM_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A jury of six soldiers is hearing graphic testimony Tuesday afternoon at the start of the sentencing phase of the trial of a U.S. soldier who massacred Afghan villagers. The jury will decide whether Staff Sgt. Robert Bales deserves life in prison with or without the chance of parole.<p>The prosecution spent about two hours outlining the case against&#160;Bales -- as agreed to by both sides. This involved graphic photographs and video and statements about Sgt. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 23:29:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32861 at http://nwpr.org Afghan Massacre Survivors Take Stand At Bales Sentencing Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty At JBLM To 16 Murders In Afghanistan http://nwpr.org/post/sgt-robert-bales-pleads-guilty-jblm-16-murders-afghanistan <p>A judge has accepted the guilty plea of a a soldier accused of murdering 16 Afghan civilians. The plea spares the life of the soldier based at Joint Base Lewis McChord. He still faces trial to determine if he'll ever be eligible for parole.</p><p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 22:53:16 +0000 Patricia Murphy 28805 at http://nwpr.org Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty At JBLM To 16 Murders In Afghanistan Staff Sgt. Bales To Plead Guilty http://nwpr.org/post/staff-sgt-bales-plead-guilty <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Army staff sergeant Robert Bales will plead guilty next week to murdering 16 Afghan villagers in early morning raids last year. The plea allows the soldier from western Washington’s Joint-Base Lewis </span>McCord<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to avoid the death penalty. John Henry Browne, an attorney for Bales, says his client will detail his own version of the crimes as part of the plea deal.</span></p><p> Thu, 30 May 2013 01:07:13 +0000 Martin Kaste 28404 at http://nwpr.org Staff Sgt. Bales To Plead Guilty Government Prosecutors Want Speedy Trial For Soldier Accused In Massacre http://nwpr.org/post/government-prosecutors-want-speedy-trial-soldier-accused-massacre <p>Staff Sergeant Robert Bales' arraignment in a military court room south of Tacoma marked the start of a court martial that could potentially end in a death sentence. Sat, 19 Jan 2013 00:13:07 +0000 Patricia Murphy 21406 at http://nwpr.org Pretrial Hearing For Staff Sgt. Bales Concludes http://nwpr.org/post/pretrial-hearing-staff-sgt-bales-concludes <p>A pretrial hearing for Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales has concluded at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Bales is the soldier accused of killing 16 Afghan civilians earlier this year – most of them young children. The defense is focused on Bales’ state of mind.</p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 00:37:17 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18326 at http://nwpr.org Pretrial Hearing For Staff Sgt. Bales Concludes Afghan Survivors And Witnesses Testify At Army Hearing http://nwpr.org/post/afghan-survivors-and-witnesses-testify-army-hearing-0 <p></p><p>Witnesses and survivors recounted a horrific scene following a massacre at two villages in Kandahar Province that killed 16 civilians and wounded 6. They testified via live video from Afghanistan during a pretrial hearing for Army Staff Sergeant Robert Bales at Joint Base Lewis McChord.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:27:06 +0000 Patricia Murphy 18240 at http://nwpr.org Afghan Survivors And Witnesses Testify At Army Hearing Fourth Day Of Pretrial Hearings For Accused JBLM Soldier http://nwpr.org/post/fourth-day-pretrial-hearings-accused-jblm-soldier <p></p><p>Friday is the fourth day of pretrial hearings for U.S. Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales. Bales is accused of massacring 16 Afghan civilians, mostly women and children, in March. The proceedings at Joint Base Lewis-McChord are also known as an Article 32 hearing. They will determine whether the case will advance to court-martial, where the government has stated it plans to seek the death penalty. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 02:03:53 +0000 Patricia Murphy 18111 at http://nwpr.org Fourth Day Of Pretrial Hearings For Accused JBLM Soldier Army Prosecutors: Sgt. Bales Exhibited “Sheer Brutality” http://nwpr.org/post/army-prosecutors-sgt-bales-exhibited-sheer-brutality-0 <p>Army prosecutors say Staff Sgt. Robert Bales murdered 16 Afghan civilians in two villages this past March in an act of “sheer brutality.” That was the opening argument at a pretrial hearing Monday to determine if Bales will face a full court martial and possibly the death penalty. Correspondent Austin Jenkins was in court at Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 14:56:20 +0000 Austin Jenkins 17901 at http://nwpr.org Army Prosecutors: Sgt. Bales Exhibited “Sheer Brutality” Bales Hearing Underway http://nwpr.org/post/bales-hearing-underway <p></p><p>Prosecutors have made opening arguments in a hearing for the Washington soldier accused of massacring 16 Afghan villagers earlier this year. The pretrial hearing for Staff Sgt. Robert Bales is expected to last several days. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 01:50:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 17877 at http://nwpr.org