Comedy http://nwpr.org en Life Is Tough, Says Joan Rivers, So 'You Better Laugh At Everything' http://nwpr.org/post/life-tough-says-joan-rivers-so-you-better-laugh-everything Comedian Joan Rivers got a diary from her daughter for the holidays a while back, and at first she was upset. Then, she reflected: Maybe it's a chance for her to save and share her wisdom. Like this entry from Feb. 16:<p><blockquote><p>Woke up not feeling well. I spent the entire day online on WebMD. ... I can say with 100 percent certainty that I have pleurisy, tuberculosis, brain stem cancer or an enlarged prostate. I found a great cure for whatever ails you. God bless the Internet! A coffee enema. ... Sat, 28 Jun 2014 16:43:00 +0000 NPR Staff 48318 at http://nwpr.org Life Is Tough, Says Joan Rivers, So 'You Better Laugh At Everything' Book News: Hitler As A Comedian? Comic Novel Tests Limits Of Humor http://nwpr.org/post/book-news-hitler-comedian-comic-novel-tests-limits-humor <em>The daily lowdown on books, publishing, and the occasional author behaving badly.</em><p><ul><p><li>Adolf Hitler wakes from a coma to find himself in modern-day Berlin, where everyone assumes he's a comedian who never breaks character — and so the Führer becomes a novelty act, a YouTube sensation (the "loony YouTube Hitler") and then eventually a celebrity and politician. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 11:34:00 +0000 Annalisa Quinn 43256 at http://nwpr.org Book News: Hitler As A Comedian? Comic Novel Tests Limits Of Humor Comedian Ages With Humor — And Effort http://nwpr.org/post/comedian-ages-humor-and-effort What is it about comedians itching to get between the covers — book covers, that is? Annabelle Gurwitch's <em>I See You Made An Effort, </em> a seriously funny collection of essays about teetering over the edge of 50, makes it clear that the draw isn't strictly literary. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 15:28:00 +0000 Heller McAlpin 42137 at http://nwpr.org Comedian Ages With Humor — And Effort A Comedian's Voyage To 'The Membrane Between Life And Death' http://nwpr.org/post/comedians-voyage-membrane-between-life-and-death Stand-up comedian Rob Delaney has been called the <a href="http://mashable.com/2012/05/07/rob-delaney-funniest-twitter/" target="_blank">funniest person on Twitter</a>. He's known for his zany observations and for condensing pithy, often vulgar commentary on politics and pop culture into <a href="https://twitter.com/robdelaney" target="_blank">140 characters or less</a>.<p>In his memoir, <em>Rob Delaney: Mother. Wife. Sister. Human. Warrior. Falcon. Yardstick. Turban. Cabbage., </em>Delaney takes a walk on the more serious side. Sat, 02 Nov 2013 22:15:00 +0000 NPR Staff 36841 at http://nwpr.org A Comedian's Voyage To 'The Membrane Between Life And Death' What’s Funny About A Tax On Fossil Fuels? Why Not Ask A Stand Up Economist? http://nwpr.org/post/what-s-funny-about-tax-fossil-fuels-why-not-ask-stand-economist <p></p><p>Yoram Bauman calls himself the world’s first and only stand up economist. He’s also advocating for a carbon tax in Washington State through an organization he founded called Carbon Washington. The tax would be modeled after the one British Columbia put into effect several years ago. Companies there pay a price per ton of CO2 that they emit.</p><p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 14:02:02 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33554 at http://nwpr.org Everyone’s a Comedian? Not At Improv School http://nwpr.org/post/everyone-s-comedian-not-improv-school <p>Improvisational theater isn’t just for aspiring comedians and performers anymore. Improv classes and workshops are popping up in Seattle, Portland, Boise, Spokane and Eugene. Companies and business schools are taking notice. Reporter Julia Flucht is in one of these classes and reports on how the improv mindset can produce creative results beyond the stage. Fri, 12 Oct 2012 13:37:56 +0000 Julia Flucht 16646 at http://nwpr.org Everyone’s a Comedian? Not At Improv School