wind farms http://nwpr.org en 600,000 Bats Killed At Wind Farms In 2012 http://nwpr.org/post/600000-bats-killed-wind-farms-2012 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Researchers are getting a better sense of just many bats are dying because of spinning wind turbine blades. A new study says more than 600,000 bats may have been killed at wind farms last year.</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 15:19:47 +0000 Courtney Flatt 37295 at http://nwpr.org 600,000 Bats Killed At Wind Farms In 2012 Washington Supreme Court: Columbia Gorge Wind Farm Can Be Built http://nwpr.org/post/washington-supreme-court-columbia-gorge-wind-farm-can-be-built-0 <p></p><p>The Washington Supreme Court Thursday decided that the Northwest’s first wind farm in a forested, mountainous area can move forward. Environmental groups had challenged its proximity to the Columbia Gorge National Scenic Area and it's effect on wildlife habitat.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:26:36 +0000 Courtney Flatt 33405 at http://nwpr.org Washington Supreme Court: Columbia Gorge Wind Farm Can Be Built Local Wind Power Keeps Energy Close To Home http://nwpr.org/post/local-wind-power-keeps-energy-close-home <p></p><p>You’ve probably seen large wind farms spinning on ridgelines across the Northwest. A new study has found a growing trend throughout the Northwest: small wind turbines. These are mostly single turbines in people’s backyards, on farms, or supplementing power for businesses.</p><p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 14:05:02 +0000 Courtney Flatt 32597 at http://nwpr.org Local Wind Power Keeps Energy Close To Home Oregon Man Sues Wind Farm Developer http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-man-sues-wind-farm-developer <p></p><p>After years of complaints, one Northwest man is suing an energy company that built a wind farm near his home. Residents have complained that noise from the turbines is affecting their health.</p><p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 13:11:41 +0000 Courtney Flatt 32410 at http://nwpr.org Historic Site, Rock Art Cave Delay Transmission Line http://nwpr.org/post/historic-site-rock-art-cave-delay-transmission-line <p></p><p><em>Northwest history is colliding with the need to upgrade the region’s electric transmission grid.&nbsp;It’s happening on a windblown patch of riverfront property at the east end of the Columbia River Gorge.</em></p><p><em>The&nbsp;Bonneville&nbsp;Power Administration is trying to build a new transmission line across that land. But conflicts over historical preservation have increased the cost of the project to $185 million and stalled progress for more than a year. Colin&nbsp;Fogarty&nbsp;begins our story in&nbsp;Wishram, Washington.</em></p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 14:33:00 +0000 Colin Fogarty 31920 at http://nwpr.org Historic Site, Rock Art Cave Delay Transmission Line No Wind Tax Credit Could Mean Fewer Jobs http://nwpr.org/post/no-wind-tax-credit-could-mean-fewer-jobs <p>Those giant wind turbines that line ridges across the Northwest have brought green energy and construction jobs to many rural areas. But some of those jobs could disappear next year. That’s if Congress does not extend a tax credit that expires in December. Wind developers say the money is critical to the burgeoning industry. But critics say taxpayers should not subsidize wind energy. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 14:20:40 +0000 Courtney Flatt 16504 at http://nwpr.org No Wind Tax Credit Could Mean Fewer Jobs