Race http://nwpr.org en Revisiting Pulitzer Nominees That Touch On Issues Of Race http://nwpr.org/post/revisiting-pulitzer-nominees-touch-issues-race This week, Columbia University handed out the Pulitzer Prizes, which are widely considered among the highest honors in journalism. The occasion gives us a good excuse to shout-out some of the finalists and winning entries that touch on issues of race and culture. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:32:00 +0000 Gene Demby 44451 at http://nwpr.org Revisiting Pulitzer Nominees That Touch On Issues Of Race Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://nwpr.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:09:56 +0000 Susan Stamberg 44211 at http://nwpr.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation For Poetry Month, We're Taking To Twitter — And We Want Your Help http://nwpr.org/post/poetry-month-were-taking-twitter-and-we-want-your-help <strong>Help us make poetry!</strong><p>April is National Poetry Month: 30 days set aside for the celebration of all things verse. Many of us here at Code Switch love poetry every month of the year, but we can't always make space for it in our coverage.<p>So this month, we're taking advantage of the national celebration and highlighting great poets and poems that address issues of race, ethnicity and culture.<p>To kick off our coverage, we're inviting <em>you</em> to help us create collaborative poetry on Twitter. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 17:23:00 +0000 Camila Domonoske 44058 at http://nwpr.org For Poetry Month, We're Taking To Twitter — And We Want Your Help As Zamata Joins 'SNL,' A Look At — And Beyond — The Prism Of Race http://nwpr.org/post/zamata-joins-snl-look-and-beyond-prism-race This week the long-running comedy show <em>Saturday Night Live</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2014/01/08/260736176/saturday-night-live-takes-a-very-important-first-step">hired Sasheer Zamata</a> as a new cast member. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 23:27:00 +0000 Danielle Evans 39859 at http://nwpr.org As Zamata Joins 'SNL,' A Look At — And Beyond — The Prism Of Race British Filmmakers Shift American 'Conversation On Race' http://nwpr.org/post/british-filmmakers-shift-american-conversation-race <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GL5lWVdh4Nw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wF4wU6HuUk</p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 20:32:00 +0000 editor 34988 at http://nwpr.org British Filmmakers Shift American 'Conversation On Race' Book News: Paula Deen's Cookbook Sales Still Sizzle http://nwpr.org/post/book-news-paula-deens-cookbook-sales-still-sizzle <em>The daily lowdown on books, publishing, and the occasional author behaving badly.</em><p><ul><p><li><em>Paula Deen's New Testament: 250 Favorite Recipes, All Lightened Up</em> isn't even out yet (it's set to be published in October), but a surge of pre-orders in the past few days has made it the top-selling book on Amazon. The cookbook, which was at 1,580<sup>th</sup> place on Monday, jumped in the midst of the growing scandal surrounding her use of racial slurs. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:48:00 +0000 editor 30099 at http://nwpr.org Culture Shift: Permission to Stay http://nwpr.org/post/culture-shift-permission-stay <p>This week, we're taking a closer look at how immigration policies shape our Northwest region, culture and people. Momentum continues to build in Congress toward an immigration reform bill this year. The centerpiece will likely focus on the millions of immigrants in the US illegally…and whether to give them a path to citizenship. It’s a proposal that echoes back to the 1980s.</p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 14:01:08 +0000 Liz Jones 24507 at http://nwpr.org Round Two For Washington Voting Rights Act http://nwpr.org/post/round-two-washington-voting-rights-act <p>Do people vote based on race? That’s a question the Washington Legislature will likely tackle this session. Supporters of a state Voting Rights Act plan to push the measure again this year. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 14:32:43 +0000 Liz Jones 21191 at http://nwpr.org Washington Legislature Receives 'D' In Racial Equity Report http://nwpr.org/post/washington-legislature-receives-d-racial-equity-report <p>A new report gives Washington state lawmakers a “D” grade on their work on racial equity. As Paige Browning explains, the report card is based on policy decisions in the 2011-2012 session that advance or reverse racial and economic equity. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 14:40:02 +0000 Paige Browning 19675 at http://nwpr.org Religion Not A Factor In Latino Politics http://nwpr.org/post/religion-not-factor-latino-politics <p>Religion is one of the most defining characteristics of Latino culture. But pollsters say it plays virtually no role in how they vote. This week, we've been looking at Latinos in Northwest politics. In our next story, Florangela Davila looks at how faith shapes the lives of two Mexican-American siblings. But not their politics. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 13:55:42 +0000 Florangela Davila 16291 at http://nwpr.org Religion Not A Factor In Latino Politics