Public Schools http://nwpr.org en Idaho High School Students Won't Be Required To Take Online Classes http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-high-school-students-wont-be-required-take-online-classes <p>Idaho high school students won't have to take online classes to graduate. The State Board of Education repealed a rule Monday that required them. Voters rejected the Students Come First laws on November 6 but one of those laws had a twist. It required the board of education to set the online class requirement, which it did. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 14:06:41 +0000 Adam Cotterell 18659 at http://nwpr.org Schools Chief Asks For 39% Budget Increase http://nwpr.org/post/schools-chief-asks-39-budget-increase <p>Washington Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn has asked for an additional four-point-one-billion dollars for basic education in his biennial budget proposal. Ann Dornfeld reports. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 14:06:02 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 16292 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Charter School Backers Check In With Plenty Of Signatures http://nwpr.org/post/wash-charter-school-backers-check-plenty-signatures <p>Supporters of creating charter schools in Washington say they have more than enough signatures to get their initiative on the ballot. They turned in their petitions Friday. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 13:08:11 +0000 Gabriel Spitzer 11315 at http://nwpr.org Corporate Kicker For K-12 Well On Track To November Ballot http://nwpr.org/post/corporate-kicker-k-12-well-track-november-ballot <p>An initiative to redirect corporate tax rebates to public schools is on track to qualify for the November ballot. This rebate is called the kicker because it goes into effect when tax revenues exceed projections by more than 2 percent. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 12:39:50 +0000 Virginia Alvino 11311 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Students Racking Up Cafeteria Debt http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-students-racking-cafeteria-debt <p>SEATTLE, Wash. - Many school districts are switching to electronic payment systems in their cafeterias. Parents can fund their kids&rsquo; accounts online, and even see what their kids are buying for lunch. But kids can also charge food when there&rsquo;s no money in their accounts. Now Seattle Public Schools is trying to collect $12,000 in unpaid lunchroom debt. From KUOW in Seattle, Ann Dornfeld reports. Mon, 13 Feb 2012 14:31:34 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3036 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Students Racking Up Cafeteria Debt Oregon Grad Rates Improve, But 1 in 3 Still Fall Short http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-grad-rates-improve-1-3-still-fall-short <p>Oregon&#39;s high school graduation rates inched up slightly last year. But as Rob Manning reports, thousands of young people who endure four years of high school don&rsquo;t have a regular diploma to show for it.</p><p>67 percent of freshmen who entered high school in 2007, earned diplomas last spring, after four years in school. The other thirty-three percent are not all dropouts. Many of them got alternative diplomas, or GED&#39;s. But education experts say the goal should be to have as many students as possible earning the more rigorous, standard diploma.</p> Mon, 30 Jan 2012 15:10:27 +0000 Rob Manning 2255 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Grad Rates Improve, But 1 in 3 Still Fall Short