University of Washington http://nwpr.org en Public Universities Offer Help For Students Affected By Slide http://nwpr.org/post/public-universities-offer-help-students-affected-slide <p>Both the University of Washington and Washington State University are prepared to deal with students who have been impacted by the&nbsp;Oso&nbsp;landslide.</p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 23:55:43 +0000 Lisa Brooks 43791 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Biologists Say Preserving Predators Is Critical http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-biologists-say-preserving-predators-critical <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In a paper published in the journal Science Thursday, biologists with University of Washington and Oregon State University make the case for protecting carnivores. They say that two thirds of the world’s largest predators are threatened. And losing them could trigger a cascade of effects.</span></p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 14:12:38 +0000 Amelia Templeton 39932 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Biologists Say Preserving Predators Is Critical UW Prof To Advise Justice Dept. On Children & Violence In Indian Country http://nwpr.org/post/uw-prof-advise-justice-dept-children-violence-indian-country <p></p><p>Tribal leaders from the Northwest and from around the country had the opportunity today to tell the Obama Administration what they want in the coming year. The White House convened what has become an annual conference with Native American tribes. A University of Washington law school professor will be giving advice all year long thanks to his appointment to a new Justice Department advisory panel. Ron Whitener says the group is specifically looking at violence faced by American Indian children.</p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 02:31:20 +0000 Tom Banse 37273 at http://nwpr.org UW Prof To Advise Justice Dept. On Children & Violence In Indian Country Seattle Company Partners With UW To Build One-of-a-Kind Submarine http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-company-partners-uw-build-one-kind-submarine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A commercial submarine operator is teaming up with the University of Washington to build a new, manned deep sea sub. The five passenger mini-sub could be available for charter by oil companies or researchers beginning in 2016.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 23:15:18 +0000 Tom Banse 35602 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Company Partners With UW To Build One-of-a-Kind Submarine Tracking An Alpine Frog That "Chuckles" And Beeps For Climate Change Research http://nwpr.org/post/tracking-alpine-frog-chuckles-and-beeps-climate-change-research <p></p><p>Way up in the mountains of the Northwest you’ll find a little amphibian known as the Cascades Frog. This frog thrives in alpine wetlands, which are dependent on snowmelt. But snowpacks are decreasing across the West. And scientists are trying to figure out how the frogs will adapt to their shrinking habitat. And they’re using some pretty interesting research methods to do that.</p><p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 14:45:53 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 32161 at http://nwpr.org Tracking An Alpine Frog That "Chuckles" And Beeps For Climate Change Research Sponges, Tools And More Left Inside Washington Hospital Patients http://nwpr.org/post/sponges-tools-and-more-left-inside-washington-hospital-patients <p></p><p>About 30 times a year, a surgery patient in Washington state has a sponge or surgical instrument left inside them. It’s one of the most commonly reported medical mistakes.</p><p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 14:50:22 +0000 John Ryan 32028 at http://nwpr.org Sponges, Tools And More Left Inside Washington Hospital Patients In King County Jails, I.C.E. Holds Lead To Longer Lockups http://nwpr.org/post/king-county-jails-ice-holds-lead-longer-lockups <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you’re booked into a King County jail, you’ll stay an extra month, on average, if immigration officials want to review your file.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">That’s even if you haven’t been charged with a crime.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This is one of the findings in a new report today from the University of Washington.</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 01:28:34 +0000 Liz Jones 24979 at http://nwpr.org Universities Say Research Funding Cuts May Bring Job Cuts http://nwpr.org/post/universities-say-research-funding-cuts-may-bring-job-cuts <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/022513TB_Research_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Northwest's public universities pull in massive amounts of federal research dollars. It totaled $1 billion last year at the University of Washington. Oregon State University won close to $200 million in federal research funds. The University of Idaho is counting on $100 million this year. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 01:07:03 +0000 Tom Banse 23335 at http://nwpr.org Universities Say Research Funding Cuts May Bring Job Cuts 'Silent Earthquakes' Ripple Under Cascadia http://nwpr.org/post/silent-earthquakes-ripple-under-cascadia <p>Parts of Washington and Oregon are in the midst of silent earthquakes this week. You can't feel this so-called "slow slip" quake and it doesn't cause damage. Still, scientists want to learn more about the recently discovered phenomenon. Sat, 06 Oct 2012 00:12:11 +0000 Tom Banse 16333 at http://nwpr.org 'Silent Earthquakes' Ripple Under Cascadia Have A Game Plan For Game Day http://nwpr.org/post/have-game-plan-game-day <p>Saturday the Oregon State Beavers take on the Washington State Cougars at home in Corvallis. Then a couple hours later, the Oregon Ducks play the University of Washington Huskies in Eugene. The two games will bring a lot of traffic. Officials are urging fans to have a game plan. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 00:00:42 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16270 at http://nwpr.org Have A Game Plan For Game Day