central washington http://nwpr.org en A Camel Walks Into A Liquor Store And... (No, It's Not A Joke) http://nwpr.org/post/camel-walks-liquor-store-and-no-its-not-joke <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">When you think of camels, pictures of hot, sandy deserts come to mind. What doesn’t come to mind is the lush farmland of inland Washington. But that’s precisely where you will find one.</span></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 19:15:38 +0000 Kelsie Smith 49703 at http://nwpr.org A Camel Walks Into A Liquor Store And... (No, It's Not A Joke) Governor Inslee: Feds Will Help Restore Power In Fire Zone http://nwpr.org/post/governor-inslee-feds-will-help-restore-power-fire-zone <p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says President Obama has pledged immediate federal aid to help fire-swept areas of north central Washington. That announcement came late Tuesday as Obama touched down in Seattle on a fundraising trip.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:50:35 +0000 Austin Jenkins 49440 at http://nwpr.org Governor Inslee: Feds Will Help Restore Power In Fire Zone Carlton Complex Wildfire Update http://nwpr.org/post/carlton-complex-wildfire-update <p>Firefighters battling the largest wildfire in Washington state have made significant progress since yesterday.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:27:51 +0000 Jamala Henderson 49438 at http://nwpr.org Carlton Complex Wildfire Update Washington Governor Asks For Cooperation With Fire Evacuation Requests http://nwpr.org/post/washington-governor-asks-cooperation-fire-evacuation-requests <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">More than a dozen wildfires in eastern Washington and eastern Oregon continue to threaten homes and cause numerous road closures.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 23:56:39 +0000 Tom Banse 49266 at http://nwpr.org Washington Governor Asks For Cooperation With Fire Evacuation Requests Washington Evacuees Have Dealt With Fires Before But ‘Not Like This’ http://nwpr.org/post/washington-evacuees-have-dealt-fires-not <p></p><p></p><p>Washington Gov. Jay Inslee says 1,000 National Guard troops will take a crash-course in wildfire fighting so they can be deployed to central Washington fires. A blaze in Okanogan County that the governor calls a “firestorm” has destroyed around 100 homes.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 23:12:59 +0000 Jessica Robinson 49262 at http://nwpr.org Washington Evacuees Have Dealt With Fires Before But ‘Not Like This’ 1,000 Washington National Guardsmen To Take Crash Course in Firefighting http://nwpr.org/post/1000-washington-national-guardsmen-take-crash-course-firefighting <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The wildfire situation in Washington state is so severe that 1,000 National Guardsman will get a crash course in firefighting. Washington Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says the troops are currently in Yakima for annual training.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:57:02 +0000 Tom Banse 49261 at http://nwpr.org 1,000 Washington National Guardsmen To Take Crash Course in Firefighting Listening Session Scheduled About Central Wash. Birth Defects http://nwpr.org/post/listening-session-scheduled-about-central-wash-birth-defects <p>Over the past three years, central Washington has seen unusually high numbers of babies born with a rare birth defect. No one has determined a cause. Public health officials are holding two listening sessions this week to learn more from community members.</p><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 00:27:53 +0000 Courtney Flatt 45870 at http://nwpr.org Listening Session Scheduled About Central Wash. Birth Defects Crack In Wanapum Dam Symptom Of Several Big Problems http://nwpr.org/post/crack-wanapum-dam-symptom-several-big-problems <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A host of problems caused the massive crack in </span>Wanapum<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Dam on the Columbia River in central Washington. That’s the news out of a Grant County utility district meeting Tuesday.</span></p><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 00:10:52 +0000 Anna King 45867 at http://nwpr.org Crack In Wanapum Dam Symptom Of Several Big Problems Why Can't This Man Win The Northwest's Most Hispanic District? http://nwpr.org/post/why-cant-man-win-northwests-most-hispanic-district <p>Is the Latino candidate in Washington's first majority-minority district a shoo-in? Not so much. Wed, 03 Oct 2012 14:41:49 +0000 Jessica Robinson 16174 at http://nwpr.org Why Can't This Man Win The Northwest's Most Hispanic District?