U.S. Forest Service http://nwpr.org en Shutdown Halts Logging On Northwest's National Forests http://nwpr.org/post/shutdown-halts-logging-northwests-national-forests <p>Loggers are packing up and leaving timber sales uncut across the Northwest. It&#39;s another effect of the partial government shutdown. Timber companies say even if a deal is reached soon at the nation&#39;s capitol, the effects from the logging hiatus could be felt all the way into next spring.</p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 23:30:02 +0000 Jessica Robinson 35603 at http://nwpr.org Shutdown Halts Logging On Northwest's National Forests Wildfire Smoke Leads to Emergency Room Visits in Southern Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/wildfire-smoke-leads-emergency-room-visits-southern-oregon-0 <p></p><p>A photo snapped by a NASA Satellite this week captured huge plumes of wildfire smoke blanketing Southern Oregon. More than 50,000 acres of forest have burned there. In cities like Shady Cove and Grants Pass, the amount of particle pollution has reached unhealthy levels for more than a week.</p><p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 15:05:48 +0000 Amelia Templeton 32303 at http://nwpr.org Wildfire Smoke Leads to Emergency Room Visits in Southern Oregon Nez Perce Attempt To Halt Oil Sands Shipment Through Reservation http://nwpr.org/post/nez-perce-attempt-halt-oil-sands-shipment-through-reservation <p></p><p>The national debate over oil development took an unusual turn on an Idaho highway early Tuesday morning. For nearly two hours, members of the Nez Perce Tribe blocked the passage of a giant water evaporator headed for the oil sands of Alberta, Canada.</p><p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 13:24:51 +0000 Jessica Robinson 32100 at http://nwpr.org Forest Service, BLM Ban Exploding Targets In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/forest-service-blm-ban-exploding-targets-northwest <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Federal land managers have banned the use of exploding targets on public lands in the Northwest. The concern is wildfires.</p><p> Thu, 11 Jul 2013 23:35:43 +0000 Tom Banse 30813 at http://nwpr.org Forest Service, BLM Ban Exploding Targets In Northwest Judge Halts Timber Sale East Of Eugene http://nwpr.org/post/judge-halts-timber-sale-east-eugene <p><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: normal;">A federal judge has blocked a proposed logging project on the Willamette National Forest, saying the government must first do an environmental impact statement, or EIS.</span> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 23:01:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 24970 at http://nwpr.org Judge Halts Timber Sale East Of Eugene Supreme Court Lets Limits On River Mining Stand http://nwpr.org/post/supreme-court-lets-limits-river-mining-stand <p>A U.S. Supreme Court ruling Monday makes it harder for miners to gain access to Northwest rivers. Environmental groups hailed the decision as a major victory.</p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:53:33 +0000 Chris Lehman 24489 at http://nwpr.org U.S. Forest Service Moves Away From 'Fight All Fire' Policy http://nwpr.org/post/us-forest-service-moves-away-fight-all-fire-policy <p></p><p>The U.S. Forest Service is reversing its policy to aggressively fight all wildfires. This change was announced in a letter from Forest Service Chief Tom Tidwell last month. Sat, 09 Mar 2013 00:21:24 +0000 Rachael McDonald 24013 at http://nwpr.org U.S. Forest Service Moves Away From 'Fight All Fire' Policy Feds Issue Citations On Northwest Firefighter’s Death http://nwpr.org/post/feds-issue-citations-northwest-firefighter-s-death <p></p><p>A federal investigation into a firefighter's death last year in Idaho finds hazardous conditions that could have been prevented. The Occupational Health and Safety Administration, or OSHA , faults both the Forest Service and the private Clearwater-Potlatch Timber Protective Association for a number of workplace safety violations. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 01:25:06 +0000 Jessica Robinson 22672 at http://nwpr.org Feds Issue Citations On Northwest Firefighter’s Death Smoke Creating Vicious Cycle In Northwest Skies http://nwpr.org/post/smoke-creating-vicious-cycle-northwest-skies <p>The fight against numerous large fires in central Washington is turning the corner. Since the weekend, fire bosses have been able to release nearly 400 firefighters from the blazes near Wenatchee. But forecasters say it may be a while before the Inland Northwest sees clear, blue skies again. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 23:50:55 +0000 Jessica Robinson 15719 at http://nwpr.org Smoke Creating Vicious Cycle In Northwest Skies