Washington Department of Health http://nwpr.org en Gorge Amphitheater In Violation Of State Health Regulations http://nwpr.org/post/gorge-amphitheater-violation-state-health-regulations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One of the largest concert venues in the Northwest is in trouble with the Washington Health Department. The Gorge Amphitheater turns into a small city during summer music festivals like Sasquatch and </span>Paradiso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. But in a warning letter this week, health officials told concert producer Live Nation that its waste water practices are inadequate and could pose a threat to public health and the environment.</span></p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 01:32:37 +0000 Jessica Robinson 46716 at http://nwpr.org Gorge Amphitheater In Violation Of State Health Regulations Measles At A Rock Concert Goes Viral In A Bad Way http://nwpr.org/post/measles-rock-concert-goes-viral-bad-way <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF0HhrwIwp0</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:53:00 +0000 editor 44009 at http://nwpr.org Measles At A Rock Concert Goes Viral In A Bad Way Online Hiccups Turn Health Care Sign-Ups Old School http://nwpr.org/post/online-hiccups-turn-health-care-sign-ups-old-school <p>It's hard to find anyone who orders anything by phone or through the mail any more, unless they're signing up for health insurance under the new Affordable Care Act. With all the online snags in the first month, people are turning to some decidedly old school methods. And some managers in the northwest say snail mail and the phone are the best workarounds for the time being.</p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 00:46:14 +0000 Jessica Robinson 36613 at http://nwpr.org Online Hiccups Turn Health Care Sign-Ups Old School Tax Credit Error Uncovered in WA Health Exchange http://nwpr.org/post/tax-credit-error-uncovered-wa-health-exchange <p>This week the state discovered an error that could mean some people would be paying more in premiums.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 26 Oct 2013 00:36:03 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36322 at http://nwpr.org Health Officials Perplexed By Number Of Northwest Gonorrhea Cases http://nwpr.org/post/health-officials-perplexed-number-northwest-gonorrhea-cases <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/102413JR_Gonorrhea_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Health officials across the Northwest are trying to figure out why they’re seeing a big upswing in the number of people with gonorrhea this year.<p> Thu, 24 Oct 2013 23:02:54 +0000 Jessica Robinson 36258 at http://nwpr.org Early Numbers From WA Health Exchange http://nwpr.org/post/early-numbers-wa-health-exchange <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; background-color: rgb(239, 239, 239);">Washington State&rsquo;s Health Exchange is one week old. To date more than 9,400 people enrolled for health coverage.</span></p><p> Wed, 09 Oct 2013 00:16:04 +0000 Ruby de Luna 35438 at http://nwpr.org Early Numbers From WA Health Exchange Washington Health Plan Website 'Cruising At 55' http://nwpr.org/post/washington-health-plan-website-cruising-55 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100413AJ_Marchand_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>After a rocky start, Washington&#8217;s health plan finder website is now running smoothly. That&#8217;s according to a spokesman for the state&#8217;s Health Benefit Exchange.<p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 23:30:55 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35252 at http://nwpr.org Washington Health Plan Website 'Cruising At 55' It's OK To Wait A Few Days For Healthcare Exchange Sign-Up http://nwpr.org/post/its-ok-wait-few-days-healthcare-exchange-sign <p>Things are went a little more smoothly Wednesday for Washington&rsquo;s Health Benefit Exchange website than the first day of operation.</p><p> Wed, 02 Oct 2013 23:18:06 +0000 Lisa Brooks 35133 at http://nwpr.org Washington Exchange Website Stumbles Out Of The Gates http://nwpr.org/post/washington-exchange-website-stumbles-out-gates <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100113AJ_ExchangeSite_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It was a rocky start to Obamacare in Washington. The state&#8217;s new health insurance website is up now, but it was shut down for most of the day because of technical glitches.<p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 22:47:15 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35075 at http://nwpr.org Washington Exchange Website Stumbles Out Of The Gates State Agency Offering Help During Last Week Of Medicare Open Enrollment http://nwpr.org/post/state-agency-offering-help-during-last-week-medicare-open-enrollment <p></p><p>Medicare open enrollment season ends Friday for those looking to change or sign onto a health program. A Washington state agency has open arms for those scrambling for insurance advice. Mon, 03 Dec 2012 14:29:52 +0000 Paige Browning 19231 at http://nwpr.org