Obamacare http://nwpr.org en Oregon Considers Dumping Health Website http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-considers-dumping-health-website <p>Oregon got more than $300 million from the feds to set up a state-of-the-art website to enroll people in health insurance. About $250 million has already been spent and Cover Oregon thinks it may cost another $78 million to fix the current website that has never been fully functional.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 23:33:57 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 44913 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Considers Dumping Health Website High Enrollment In A State With No Love For Obamacare http://nwpr.org/post/high-enrollment-state-no-love-obamacare <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The latest figures on who's signing up under the federal health care law tell a surprising story about one of the most conservative states in the country. Even though Idaho politicians regularly condemn </span>Obamacare<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, </span>Idahoans<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> are signing up at one of the highest per capita rates in the country – second only to Vermont.</span></p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 14:46:09 +0000 Jessica Robinson 41910 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Grill Director Of Health Insurance Exchange http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-grill-director-health-insurance-exchange <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011514CL_coveroregon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon's Obamacare health insurance exchange is finally getting some traction after a shaky beginning.<p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 01:08:25 +0000 Chris Lehman 40074 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Grill Director Of Health Insurance Exchange Head Of Oregon Health Insurance Exchange Takes Medical Leave http://nwpr.org/post/head-oregon-health-insurance-exchange-takes-medical-leave <p>The director of the Oregon Health Authority will take temporary control of the embattled health insurance exchange.&nbsp;Since Cover Oregon was supposed to start enrolling new customers on Oct. 1, Rocky King has faced substantial criticism.</p><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 01:42:23 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 38125 at http://nwpr.org Oregonians Can Keep Health Insurance http://nwpr.org/post/oregonians-can-keep-health-insurance <p>Oregon’s insurance commissioner is giving insurance companies the option to extend their health plans through the end of next year, even if they don't comply with the federal health care law.</p><p> Sat, 16 Nov 2013 01:52:03 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 37402 at http://nwpr.org Oregonians Can Keep Health Insurance Slow Start, Mixed Bag For Health Care Law In The Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/slow-start-mixed-bag-health-care-law-northwest <p>The first numbers on enrollment under the new health care law confirm a slow start and mixed results in Northwest states. In Idaho, 338 people have signed up for health insurance that will start January 1. Washington's health exchange has enrolled 7,091 people. Oregon, meanwhile, comes up blank in the new federal report.</p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 02:34:16 +0000 Jessica Robinson 37274 at http://nwpr.org Slow Start, Mixed Bag For Health Care Law In The Northwest Congressional Incumbents Face Re-Election Heat Over Health Care Law http://nwpr.org/post/congressional-incumbents-face-re-election-heat-over-health-care-law <p>Oregon Democratic Senator Jeff Merkley Wednesday signed on to legislation to allow people to keep their current insurance plans under the new federal health care law. It's the latest example of how the Affordable Care Act could be a hot topic in next year’s election.</p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 02:24:58 +0000 Chris Lehman 37272 at http://nwpr.org Congressional Incumbents Face Re-Election Heat Over Health Care Law Normally Bipartisan Wash. Revenue Forecast Sees Partisan Flare-Up http://nwpr.org/post/normally-bipartisan-wash-revenue-forecast-sees-partisan-flare <p>Election year tensions erupted at Washington’s latest quarterly revenue forecast. At the center of the partisan flare-up Wednesday was former Republican gubernatorial candidate Dino Rossi. He’s been appointed to finish out a vacancy in the Washington senate. Thu, 20 Sep 2012 01:22:07 +0000 Austin Jenkins 15474 at http://nwpr.org Normally Bipartisan Wash. Revenue Forecast Sees Partisan Flare-Up