toxins http://nwpr.org en No Exterior Leak From Hanford Tank, According To Department Of Energy http://nwpr.org/post/no-exterior-leak-hanford-tank-according-department-energy <p>Here’s an update on a double-hulled tank that’s leaking internally at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in southeast Washington. The Department of Energy said Friday that recent tests show there is no leak of radioactive material outside of the tank. But the State of Washington says it still wants Hanford managers to pump the liquids out of the tank immediately. Correspondent Anna King has more.</p><p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 13:43:19 +0000 Anna King 31332 at http://nwpr.org Study Challenges BPA Exposure http://nwpr.org/post/study-challenges-bpa-exposure <p></p><p>A new study out of the Pacific Northwest has found people may be exposed to far less of the chemical BPA than previously thought. BPA, also known as bisphenol A, has been linked to genital defects, early onset of puberty and obesity. Sat, 23 Feb 2013 01:38:52 +0000 Courtney Flatt 23220 at http://nwpr.org Radioactive Hanford Waste Tank Has A Confirmed Leak http://nwpr.org/post/radioactive-hanford-waste-tank-has-confirmed-leak <p>Managers at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation have confirmed that a radioactive waste tank has a slow leak. That waste isn’t getting into the environment. Richland Correspondent Anna King reports. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 13:40:39 +0000 Anna King 17178 at http://nwpr.org Radioactive Hanford Waste Tank Has A Confirmed Leak Poll Finds High Awareness Of Stormwater Pollution In Northwest States http://nwpr.org/post/poll-finds-high-awareness-stormwater-pollution-northwest-states <p>Residents of the Northwest see urban stormwater runoff as a top source of water pollution, according to a poll commissioned by EarthFix. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 00:35:37 +0000 Amelia Templeton 16925 at http://nwpr.org Wash. State Supreme Court Says Toxic Cleanup Tax Is Constitutional http://nwpr.org/post/wash-state-supreme-court-says-toxic-cleanup-tax-constitutional <p>The Washington State Supreme Court has unanimously upheld the state's toxic cleanup tax. A ruling issued Thursday turns aside a challenge from gas station owners. Thu, 04 Oct 2012 23:07:11 +0000 Tom Banse 16267 at http://nwpr.org Wash. State Supreme Court Says Toxic Cleanup Tax Is Constitutional Study Confirms BPA Damages Reproductive Systems http://nwpr.org/post/study-confirms-bpa-damages-reproductive-systems <p>Research in the Northwest is finding new evidence that a chemical used to harden plastics can damage female reproductive systems. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 23:42:07 +0000 Courtney Flatt 15846 at http://nwpr.org New Pollutants: Prescription Drugs, Personal Care Products http://nwpr.org/post/new-pollutants-prescription-drugs-personal-care-products <p>Water pollution doesn't just come from industrial pipes. It can also come from your prescription drugs or antibacterial soap. As part of our series on the 40th anniversary of the Clean Water Act, Cassandra Profita reports on the everyday pollutants that are emerging in waterways across the Northwest.You can find more about prescription drugs entering Northwest waters on our website nwpr.org and (hear how unregulated toxins may be affecting fish in the Northwest.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 12:04:09 +0000 Cassandra Profita 15119 at http://nwpr.org New Pollutants: Prescription Drugs, Personal Care Products