Tourism http://nwpr.org en Why Washington Wants More Latinos To Go Fishing http://nwpr.org/post/why-washington-wants-more-latinos-go-fishing <p>The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife is trying to get more Hispanic people fishing. And they’d like to get them to buy fishing licenses. That’d produce more revenue for the state. For EarthFix, Courtney Flatt has more. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:36:22 +0000 Courtney Flatt 48036 at http://nwpr.org Why Washington Wants More Latinos To Go Fishing Large Cruise Ships Call On Small Northwest Ports http://nwpr.org/post/large-cruise-ships-call-small-northwest-ports <p>Cruise season has begun in the Pacific Northwest with the arrival of gleaming cruise ships. They'll be steaming back and forth to Alaska all summer from Vancouver and Seattle. At the beginning and end of the cruise season, those large cruise ships also call on smaller Northwest ports such as Astoria, Port Angeles and Nanaimo, B.C.</p><p> Sat, 10 May 2014 00:13:27 +0000 Tom Banse 45676 at http://nwpr.org Large Cruise Ships Call On Small Northwest Ports National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown http://nwpr.org/post/national-parks-report-nearby-towns-lost-nearly-500m-october-shutdown <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030314JR_NationalParks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to a National Park Service report, <a href="http://www.nature.nps.gov/socialscience/docs/Economic2013ShutdownReport_Final_nrss_VSE.pdf">towns around national parks lost an estimated $414 million</a> during the partial government shutdown last October.<p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:19:25 +0000 Jessica Robinson 42258 at http://nwpr.org National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown Groups Unveil Plans For Redeveloping Hanford http://nwpr.org/post/groups-unveil-plans-redeveloping-hanford <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/110413AK_Hanfordplan_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Community leaders in southeast Washington are looking to develop parts of the Hanford Nuclear Reservation as a prime spot for tourists.<p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 01:32:10 +0000 Anna King 36792 at http://nwpr.org Groups Unveil Plans For Redeveloping Hanford Nation's First Tiny House Hotel Opens In Portland http://nwpr.org/post/nations-first-tiny-house-hotel-opens-portland <p>The country's first tiny house hotel is holding its grand opening in Portland on Saturday. The Caravan Tiny House Hotel invites guests to stay in one of three tiny homes as if they were hotel rooms. For EarthFix, Cassandra Profita reports.</p><p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 13:58:07 +0000 Cassandra Profita 31691 at http://nwpr.org Nation's First Tiny House Hotel Opens In Portland Getting High In The Northwest On Zip Lines http://nwpr.org/post/getting-high-northwest-zip-lines Apparently Northwesterners are not afraid of heights and have a yen for adventure. We draw that conclusion because the industry of zip line tours and aerial adventure parks is booming in the Northwest right now. Within the past couple years, fully a dozen commercial zip line attractions have opened in Oregon, Washington and Idaho... not counting at least twelve more in British Columbia and Alaska. The revenue potential has some municipal parks departments looking to add spendy zip line attractions in public parks. Correspondent Tom Banse reports from Eatonville, Washington. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 13:25:41 +0000 Tom Banse 14283 at http://nwpr.org Getting High In The Northwest On Zip Lines