Public Health http://nwpr.org en Public Health Officials Say Measles Case Highlights Vaccination Need http://nwpr.org/post/public-health-officials-say-measles-case-highlights-vaccination-need <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Public health officials say recent measles cases in the Northwest highlight the need to be vaccinated against the infection. While the highly-contagious illness remains rare, the Centers for Disease Control is reporting an uptick nationally in the number of cases this year.</span></p><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 13:56:50 +0000 Chris Lehman 37105 at http://nwpr.org Public Health Officials Say Measles Case Highlights Vaccination Need Washington State Pays For More Than Half Of Births http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-pays-more-half-births <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/020813AJ_TaxpayerFundedBirths_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SHELTON, Wash. - It’s one of the most vexing problems state lawmakers face: how to curb the rising cost of healthcare. In Washington, there’s one specific line item in the healthcare budget that’s startling, but few at the Capitol are talking about: taxpayers now foot the bill for more than half of all births in Washington. Mon, 11 Feb 2013 14:23:23 +0000 Austin Jenkins 22603 at http://nwpr.org Washington State Pays For More Than Half Of Births Dairies Fight EPA Nitrate Study http://nwpr.org/post/dairies-fight-epa-nitrate-study <p>RICHLAND, Wash. – The Washington dairy industry is fighting a report from the Environmental</p><p></p><p>Protection Agency. The report found that dairies are likely contaminating residential wells in the Lower Yakima Valley. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 00:54:12 +0000 Courtney Flatt 20066 at http://nwpr.org Dairies Fight EPA Nitrate Study Washington And Oregon Get CHIP Bonuses http://nwpr.org/post/washington-and-oregon-get-chip-bonuses <p></p><p>Oregon is going to get an extra $25 million dollars from the federal government this year for the state's efforts to insure children.&nbsp; Washington will get $12 million.</p><p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 00:38:50 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil & christian 20065 at http://nwpr.org Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/study-microbial-hitchhikers-ride-wind-asia-northwest <p>Researchers have discovered something they didn’t expect in the air above an Oregon mountain: hundreds of tiny organisms from Asia. The study suggests the atmosphere is filled with life capable of traveling long distances. Jessica Robinson reports. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:10:38 +0000 Jessica Robinson 19968 at http://nwpr.org Study: ‘Microbial Hitchhikers’ Ride The Wind From Asia To Northwest Portland Moves Forward On Fluoridation http://nwpr.org/post/portland-moves-forward-fluoridation Portland City Council has unanimously approved fluoridating the city's water system. April Baer of Oregon Public Broadcasting reports, a challenge to the plan has already been set in motion.  <p> About a dozen signs dotted the room, with opposition slogans like "Public water, public vote." Several hecklers were thrown out. <p> Council members including Amanda Fritz said they felt some concerns raised by opponents were valid.  <p> Fritz "I don't believe this measure is being funded by chemical companies, but I do recognize that there are people who are sensitive to fluoride. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 13:19:09 +0000 April Baer 15126 at http://nwpr.org Back To School Heightens Whooping Cough Concerns http://nwpr.org/post/back-school-heightens-whooping-cough-concerns <p>Most public school students in the Northwest head back to class next week. And that has public health officials on alert. They're afraid that classrooms could be fertile ground for the spread of whooping cough, an infectious disease that's already being called an epidemic in some states. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 23:06:54 +0000 Chris Lehman 14254 at http://nwpr.org Back To School Heightens Whooping Cough Concerns