Taylor Bridge http://nwpr.org en Taylor Bridge Fire Declared 100 Percent Contained http://nwpr.org/post/taylor-bridge-fire-declared-100-percent-contained <p>A damaging wildfire in central Washington has been declared 100 percent contained, this more than two weeks after it ignited. Correspondent Tom Banse reports. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 13:34:53 +0000 Tom Banse 14285 at http://nwpr.org Taylor Bridge Fire Declared 100 Percent Contained Burned Trees Pose Risk To Returning Evacuees http://nwpr.org/post/burned-trees-pose-risk-returning-evacuees <p>Property owners in central Washington are confronting a common issue after wildfires: safety around charred trees. Fri, 24 Aug 2012 23:13:04 +0000 Colin Fogarty 14053 at http://nwpr.org Burned Trees Pose Risk To Returning Evacuees Wind Turbines Undamaged by Central Wash. Fire http://nwpr.org/post/wind-turbines-undamaged-central-wash-fire There’s been some speculation over the years as to how wind farms would hold up in the event of a large wildfire. Now, the verdict is in. From EarthFix, Courtney Flatt reports a central Washington wind farm was not damaged. <p> Scorched earth surrounds wind turbines just outside Cle Elum, Washington. A fire that drove through over the last week and a half destroyed more than 50 houses and has burned an estimated 23,000 acres. Fri, 24 Aug 2012 14:35:57 +0000 Courtney Flatt 14023 at http://nwpr.org Wind Turbines Undamaged by Central Wash. Fire Taylor Bridge Wildfire Containment Delayed http://nwpr.org/post/taylor-bridge-wildfire-containment-delayed <p>Fire officials in central Washington are pushing back their timeline to fully contain the Taylor Bridge fire. They’d hoped to have the fire 100 percent contained by tomorrow. But now officials say early next week is more likely. Thu, 23 Aug 2012 23:51:43 +0000 Liz Jones 13990 at http://nwpr.org Last Stretch Of Taylor Bridge Fire Hard To Contain http://nwpr.org/post/last-stretch-taylor-bridge-fire-hard-contain <p>Fire crews in central Washington say they’ll need a couple more days to contain the last 10 percent of the Taylor Bridge fire. The blaze near Cle Elum, Wash., is 90 percent surrounded by fire lines, with full containment expected by Friday. The last open stretch of wildfire is in especially steep, rocky terrain. Wed, 22 Aug 2012 23:07:55 +0000 Colin Fogarty 13918 at http://nwpr.org Last Stretch Of Taylor Bridge Fire Hard To Contain Firefighters Get Handle On Central Washington’s Taylor Bridge Fire http://nwpr.org/post/firefighters-get-handle-central-washington-s-taylor-bridge-fire <p>Firefighters are getting a better handle on the Taylor Bridge fire burning in central Washington State. Fire crews say they have the fire 90 percent contained. So far the blaze has destroyed more than 50 homes and displaced many residents and livestock. Correspondent Anna King reports. Wed, 22 Aug 2012 13:11:20 +0000 Anna King 13875 at http://nwpr.org Firefighters Get Handle On Central Washington’s Taylor Bridge Fire Firefighters Battle Windswept Flames On Taylor Bridge Fire http://nwpr.org/post/firefighters-battle-windswept-flames-taylor-bridge-fire <p>Firefighters in Central Washington are contending with heavy winds today as they try to get control of the Taylor Bridge fire near Cle Elum. Gusts of up to 30 miles per hour have been testing the fire lines. So far the blaze has scorched more than 23,000 acres, and crews have it 57 percent contained. More than 1,000 people are working to put out the blaze. Tue, 21 Aug 2012 23:57:42 +0000 Anna King 13849 at http://nwpr.org Firefighters Battle Windswept Flames On Taylor Bridge Fire Officials Expect Taylor Bridge Fire To Be Contained By Tuesday http://nwpr.org/post/officials-expect-taylor-bridge-fire-be-contained-tuesday <p>Fire crews expect to contain the Taylor Bridge Fire in central Washington by Tuesday afternoon. Crews are now working in steep terrain on the northwest side of the blaze. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 23:34:06 +0000 Anna King 13787 at http://nwpr.org Officials Expect Taylor Bridge Fire To Be Contained By Tuesday As Fire Crews Contain Blaze, Some Residents Return Home http://nwpr.org/post/fire-crews-contain-blaze-some-residents-return-home <p>Residents are returning to their homes as a wildfire burning in central Washington nears containment.</p><p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 23:38:20 +0000 Courtney Flatt 13659 at http://nwpr.org As Fire Crews Contain Blaze, Some Residents Return Home Kittitas County Wildfire Nearing Containment http://nwpr.org/post/kittitas-county-wildfire-nearing-containment <p>Fire bosses at the scene of a destructive wildfire in central Washington are letting more evacuees return to their homes Friday.</p><p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 23:24:47 +0000 Tom Banse 13657 at http://nwpr.org Kittitas County Wildfire Nearing Containment