Puget Sound http://nwpr.org en Feds Give OK To Tidal Energy Project In Puget Sound http://nwpr.org/post/feds-give-ok-tidal-energy-project-puget-sound <p>Puget Sound tides may soon be generating power. &nbsp;A proposal for the world’s first tidal energy project that’s connected to the grid received a federal license Thursday.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 13:27:32 +0000 Courtney Flatt 43123 at http://nwpr.org Feds Give OK To Tidal Energy Project In Puget Sound Puget Sound Still In "Critical Condition" http://nwpr.org/post/puget-sound-still-critical-condition <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Puget Sound just got the results back from its annual check up…and they’re not good. A new report from the Puget Sound Partnership labels the Sound as still in “crisis” but says some small progress has been made.</span></p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 14:40:01 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 36637 at http://nwpr.org Puget Sound Gets Troubling Report Card On Sediment Contamination http://nwpr.org/post/puget-sound-gets-troubling-report-card-sediment-contamination <p>Studying the muck at the bottom of Puget Sound is an excellent way to tell how healthy the Sound is.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Department of Ecology took samples from around Puget Sound back in 1998 and then compared them with samples taken from the same area ten years later.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">And now the results are in.</span></p><p> Tue, 04 Jun 2013 23:11:24 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 28734 at http://nwpr.org Puget Sound Gets Troubling Report Card On Sediment Contamination New Protections Proposed For Giant Pacific Octopus in Puget Sound http://nwpr.org/post/new-protections-proposed-giant-pacific-octopus-puget-sound <p>Host Intro: The harvesting of a giant Pacific octopus near Alki Beach in Seattle last October prompted a public outcry. Now the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife is considering new protections for octopuses. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix.</p><p> Tue, 16 Apr 2013 13:51:41 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 25961 at http://nwpr.org New Protections Proposed For Giant Pacific Octopus in Puget Sound Tidal Power Project In Puget Sound One Step Closer To Approval http://nwpr.org/post/tidal-power-project-puget-sound-one-step-closer-approval <p>A proposal to generate power from Puget Sound tides moved one step closer to approval with the release of a new government review. Ashley Ahearn reports for EarthFix. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 14:54:22 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 21873 at http://nwpr.org Seal Sitters Ask Beach-Goers To Share The Shore http://nwpr.org/post/seal-sitters-ask-beach-goers-share-shore <p>It's common for people strolling the beaches of Puget Sound to encounter a gray lump that turns out to be a seal pup. It's also common for well-meaning people to want to shoo them back into the water -- but this can do more to harass than help. A band of volunteers is making sure that doesn’t happen. Reporting for EarthFix, Katie Campbell explains. Wed, 09 Jan 2013 15:01:34 +0000 Katie Campbell 20918 at http://nwpr.org Seal Sitters Ask Beach-Goers To Share The Shore Oil Trains On The Rise In The Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/oil-trains-rise-northwest <p></p><p>Regulators in the region are weighing the potential impacts of trains full of coal moving along the Columbia River and the shores of Puget Sound. Meanwhile, trains full of Oil are quietly on the rise.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 14:09:50 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 19344 at http://nwpr.org Oil Trains On The Rise In The Northwest Ocean Acidification Takes Toll On Northwest Shellfish http://nwpr.org/post/ocean-acidification-takes-toll-northwest-shellfish <p></p><p>Governor Chris Gregoire has just released a long awaited report on ocean acidification.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 14:33:03 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 19009 at http://nwpr.org Ocean Acidification Takes Toll On Northwest Shellfish Puget Sound Ports Curb Emissions http://nwpr.org/post/puget-sound-ports-curb-emissions <p></p><p>Air pollution from the major shipping ports in Puget Sound has decreased, according to a new report released Tuesday.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 13:22:44 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 17605 at http://nwpr.org Puget Sound Ports Curb Emissions Even With No Electoral College, Statewide Races Have Math To Victory http://nwpr.org/post/even-no-electoral-college-statewide-races-have-math-victory <p>In the presidential race, we hear a lot about the electoral map and the math to winning the presidency. It’s all about swing states like Ohio and Florida. At the state level, there’s no electoral college. The candidate with the most votes wins. But there’s still a formula for victory. Wed, 24 Oct 2012 13:22:35 +0000 Austin Jenkins 17237 at http://nwpr.org Even With No Electoral College, Statewide Races Have Math To Victory