Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife http://nwpr.org en Northwest’s Wild Bighorn Sheep See No Relief From Pneumonia Outbreaks http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-s-wild-bighorn-sheep-see-no-relief-pneumonia-outbreaks <p>Bighorn sheep in the Northwest have their lambs in early spring. About now, those babies start playing together in the mountains. It’s sort of like lamby daycare. But that sweet, social behavior is spreading a deadly disease in several herds throughout the region.</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 01:08:40 +0000 Anna King 46590 at http://nwpr.org Northwest’s Wild Bighorn Sheep See No Relief From Pneumonia Outbreaks States' Status Update On Wolf-Elk Relationship: It's Complicated http://nwpr.org/post/states-status-update-wolf-elk-relationship-its-complicated <p></p><p>The presence of wolves may mean hunters can't count on finding elk in favorite hunting spots … but that doesn’t necessarily mean there are fewer elk. That was the message from wildlife managers in three Northwest states Thursday in an online public meeting.</p><p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 12:55:15 +0000 Jessica Robinson 31209 at http://nwpr.org States' Status Update On Wolf-Elk Relationship: It's Complicated WA Wildlife Managers To Euthanize Bighorn Sheep http://nwpr.org/post/wa-wildlife-managers-euthanize-bighorn-sheep <p>Wildlife managers are euthanizing bighorn sheep in central Washington. A herd has been infected with a disease that causes pneumonia.</p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 23:26:20 +0000 Courtney Flatt 25288 at http://nwpr.org WA Wildlife Managers To Euthanize Bighorn Sheep Washington Confirms ‘Wenatchee Wolf Pack’ http://nwpr.org/post/washington-confirms-wenatchee-wolf-pack <p>Washington officials confirmed a new wolf pack outside Wenatchee this week. But the pack has already run into trouble with ranchers.</p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 01:08:17 +0000 Courtney Flatt 24978 at http://nwpr.org Washington Confirms ‘Wenatchee Wolf Pack’ Pygmy Rabbits Recovering In The Wild http://nwpr.org/post/pygmy-rabbits-recovering-wild <p></p><p>Biologists released more than 100 pygmy rabbits into the wild this summer. Now, as temperatures drop and snow falls, they’re out tracking the rabbits to find out how many of the endangered species have survived. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 00:45:31 +0000 Courtney Flatt 20953 at http://nwpr.org Pygmy Rabbits Recovering In The Wild Illegal Meat And Fish The Subject Of Raids In Washington http://nwpr.org/post/illegal-meat-and-fish-subject-raids-washington <p>Washington Fish and Wildlife police have raided more than a dozen locations around the state. The one day blitz on suspected poachers and traffickers follows a two year undercover investigation. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 01:46:57 +0000 Austin Jenkins 15410 at http://nwpr.org Illegal Meat And Fish The Subject Of Raids In Washington Washington Officials Kill First Wolf Over Livestock Loss http://nwpr.org/post/washington-officials-kill-first-wolf-over-livestock-loss <p>For the first time, state officials have killed a female wolf from a pack in northeastern Washington after repeated incidents with livestock on nearby ranches. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 23:33:19 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 13060 at http://nwpr.org Washington Officials Kill First Wolf Over Livestock Loss