Dream Act http://nwpr.org en Republican Senator Pushes Back On College Aid For Undocumented Students http://nwpr.org/post/republican-senator-pushes-back-college-aid-undocumented-students <p>A bipartisan plan in the Washington legislature to give undocumented students access to college aid is coming under fire. A Republican state senator from eastern Washington has introduced a measure to amend the so-called “Real Hope” Act. This change would give priority to lawful residents when it comes to limited financial aid dollars.</p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 01:29:14 +0000 Austin Jenkins 41259 at http://nwpr.org Republican Senator Pushes Back On College Aid For Undocumented Students Muslim-American Communities Lobby For Equal Financial Aid http://nwpr.org/post/muslim-american-communities-lobby-equal-financial-aid Immigrant rights groups are trying to convince Washington state Senators to make undocumented students eligible for financial aid.<p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 14:06:03 +0000 Taylor Winkel 40260 at http://nwpr.org Muslim-American Communities Lobby For Equal Financial Aid Washington House Re-Passes College Aid For Immigrant Students http://nwpr.org/post/washington-house-re-passes-college-aid-immigrant-students <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011314TS_Santos_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It wasn’t all pomp and circumstance on Monday. The opening day of the Washington Legislature included something rare for day one: a floor vote.<p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 01:09:32 +0000 39976 at http://nwpr.org Washington House Re-Passes College Aid For Immigrant Students Washington Dreamers Pin Hopes on Special Session http://nwpr.org/post/washington-dreamers-pin-hopes-special-session <p>As lawmakers reconvene in Olympia Monday, the headliner is the state budget. But immigrant advocates are pressing to get the Dream Act added to the lineup, too. Liz Jones has more.</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 14:20:27 +0000 Liz Jones 27415 at http://nwpr.org Washington Dream Act Unlikely to Clear Senate http://nwpr.org/post/washington-dream-act-unlikely-clear-senate <p>Supporters of the so-called Washington Dream Act plan to make one more uphill push in Olympia Tuesday. The measure would extend state financial aid to eligible college students who are in the US illegally. Hopes for the bill dwindled this weekend as a key state senator spoke out against the measure. KUOW’s Liz Jones reports.</p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 13:38:45 +0000 Liz Jones 25225 at http://nwpr.org Undocumented “Dreamers” Focus of Statewide Forums http://nwpr.org/post/undocumented-dreamers-focus-statewide-forums Immigrant advocates are kicking-off a series of statewide forums Thursday night about Obama’s new policy for so-called “dreamers”. The measure gives temporary legal protection to some undocumented immigrants who came here as children. Federal officials plan to open up the application process later this month, as KUOW’s Liz Jones reports. <p> In June, federal officials announced a new policy aimed to halt the deportation of some young immigrants. Thu, 02 Aug 2012 12:49:32 +0000 Liz Jones 12623 at http://nwpr.org