Arctic http://nwpr.org en "Last Night of the Proms" http://nwpr.org/post/last-night-proms <p> The “Last Night of the Proms,” one of the biggest classical music parties of the summer, is tomorrow night with performances in London, Belfast and Glasgow. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 18:03:47 +0000 Robin Rilette 33766 at http://nwpr.org "Last Night of the Proms" Bringing Art To Narwhal Research In The Arctic http://nwpr.org/post/bringing-art-narwhal-research-arctic <p>Artists have accompanied scientists and explorers for hundreds of years - documenting discoveries of new species and uncharted territory.</p><p>Well, that tradition is still alive and well.</p><p>Ashley Ahearn interviewed two Seattleites on a scientific and artistic expedition to study Narwhals in Greenland, and produced this audio postcard.</p><p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 13:21:47 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 25574 at http://nwpr.org Bringing Art To Narwhal Research In The Arctic Shell Cancels Arctic Oil Drilling http://nwpr.org/post/shell-cancels-arctic-oil-drilling <p>Shell Oil has put Arctic drilling on hold. The company announced Wednesday that it will not attempt to drill for oil in the Arctic Ocean this year. The announcement comes after a year of accidents and setbacks for Shell’s Arctic drilling efforts. KUOW’s John Ryan reports from Seattle. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 14:33:05 +0000 John Ryan 23486 at http://nwpr.org Shell Cancels Arctic Oil Drilling Another Setback For Shell’s Arctic Drilling Plans http://nwpr.org/post/another-setback-shell-s-arctic-drilling-plans <p>Another costly setback for Shell Oil and its efforts to drill in the Arctic Ocean: Shell needs to send its beleaguered oil rigs to Asia for major repairs, instead of to Seattle as planned. KUOW’s John Ryan reports. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 14:44:05 +0000 John Ryan 22690 at http://nwpr.org Another Setback For Shell’s Arctic Drilling Plans Interior Dept. To Probe Shell’s Arctic Drilling Mishaps http://nwpr.org/post/interior-dept-probe-shell-s-arctic-drilling-mishaps <p>The Obama Administration announced a sweeping inquiry into Shell Oil’s Arctic drilling program yesterday. The 60-day probe will look at the company’s mishaps in Alaska and here in Puget Sound. KUOW’s John Ryan reports. Wed, 09 Jan 2013 14:54:26 +0000 John Ryan 20916 at http://nwpr.org Interior Dept. To Probe Shell’s Arctic Drilling Mishaps Congressman Seeks Answers In Arctic Oil-Spill Gear's Failure http://nwpr.org/post/congressman-seeks-answers-arctic-oil-spill-gears-failure <p>Oil-spill equipment designed to support drilling in the Arctic Ocean was damaged badly in its first field test this fall in Puget Sound near Anacortes. A public radio investigation revealed just how badly. Now a top Congressman is seeking answers, too. Seattle correspondent John Ryan reports. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 14:20:03 +0000 John Ryan 19407 at http://nwpr.org Congressman Seeks Answers In Arctic Oil-Spill Gear's Failure Shell Delays Arctic Oil Drilling Until 2013 http://nwpr.org/post/shell-delays-arctic-oil-drilling-until-2013 Problems in Puget Sound have led Shell Oil to cancel its plans for drilling for oil in the Arctic Ocean this year. KUOW's John Ryan reports from the Bellingham waterfront. <p> The Arctic Challenger is Shell's oil-spill containment barge. It's here behind me at the Bellingham Shipping Terminal. It's supposed to be in place in the Arctic to help mop up any oil spills. It's been under construction here at the Bellingham Shipping Terminal for months. <p> This weekend, a tugboat pulled it out into Puget Sound so its "containment dome" could be tested in 160 feet of water. Tue, 18 Sep 2012 13:01:39 +0000 John Ryan 15353 at http://nwpr.org Shell Delays Arctic Oil Drilling Until 2013 Delays In Bellingham Curtail Arctic Oil Drilling http://nwpr.org/post/delays-bellingham-curtail-arctic-oil-drilling <p>Shell Oil is scaling back its plans for drilling in the Arctic Ocean this year. Icy conditions in the far North and construction problems in Bellingham have delayed the company&#39;s efforts. KUOW&#39;s John Ryan reports from Seattle. Mon, 30 Jul 2012 12:52:49 +0000 John Ryan 12459 at http://nwpr.org Delays In Bellingham Curtail Arctic Oil Drilling