Gary Haugen http://nwpr.org en U.S. Supreme Court Turns Down Oregon Inmate's Request To Be Executed http://nwpr.org/post/us-supreme-court-turns-down-oregon-inmates-request-be-executed <p>The U.S. Supreme Court has turned down an Oregon death-row inmate's request to be executed. Tuesday's ruling means that two-time murderer Gary Haugen will not be executed for the foreseeable future.</p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 02:56:58 +0000 Chris Lehman 40290 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Scores Legal Victory Over Death Row Inmate http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-scores-legal-victory-over-death-row-inmate <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber has scored a major legal victory in a case that pits him against a death row inmate who wants to be executed. The Oregon Supreme Court ruled Thursday that the governor does have the right to spare Gary Haugen's life.</p><p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:09:51 +0000 Chris Lehman 29699 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber Scores Legal Victory Over Death Row Inmate Oregon High Court Hears Haugen Vs. Kitzhaber http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-high-court-hears-haugen-vs-kitzhaber-0 <p>EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon Supreme Court Thursday heard arguments in a case that pits a death row inmate against Governor John Kitzhaber. An attorney for Gary Haugen argued that the two-time murderer has the right to reject a reprieve from the death penalty issued by the governor. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 23:14:03 +0000 Chris Lehman 24317 at http://nwpr.org Oregon High Court Hears Haugen Vs. Kitzhaber Oregon Supreme Court Takes Up Haugen's Request To Die http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-supreme-court-takes-haugens-request-die <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031313CL_deathpenpreview_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Oregon Supreme Court is set to hear arguments Thursday in a case involving a death row inmate who wants to die. Two-time murderer Gary Haugen is trying to reject a reprieve issued by Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber.<p>It's definitely an unusual situation. Normally you'd expect people on death row to be happy about having their execution delayed. But Haugen had dropped all of his appeals and was actually trying to be executed. He repeatedly told judges that he was ready. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 00:09:18 +0000 Chris Lehman 24244 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Supreme Court Takes Up Haugen's Request To Die Kitzhaber To Appeal Execution Reprieve Decision http://nwpr.org/post/kitzhaber-appeal-execution-reprieve-decision <p>The case of an Oregon death row inmate seeking his own execution is headed for a higher court. Gov.John Kitzhaber said Tuesday he plans to ask an appeals court to overturn a decision that cleared the way for the state’s first execution since 1997.</p><p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 00:33:34 +0000 Colin Fogarty 15030 at http://nwpr.org Kitzhaber To Appeal Execution Reprieve Decision Judges Overturns Kitzhaber's Reprieve Of Haugen http://nwpr.org/post/judges-overturns-kitzhabers-reprieve-haugen <p>An Oregon judge says death row inmate Gary Haugen has the right to reject a reprieve from Gov. John Kitzhaber. Circuit Court Judge Timothy Alexander&#39;s ruling Friday paves the way for a possible new execution date for the two-time murderer. Fri, 03 Aug 2012 23:51:02 +0000 Chris Lehman 12743 at http://nwpr.org Judges Overturns Kitzhaber's Reprieve Of Haugen Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-death-row-inmate-asks-judge-overturn-governors-reprieve <p>Late last year, Gov. John Kitzhaber issued a moratorium that put on hold the execution of twice-convicted murderer Gary Haugen. Now the death row inmate is asking a judge to overrule that reprieve. Haugen appeared in a Marion County courtroom Tuesday. Tue, 24 Jul 2012 23:33:54 +0000 Virginia Alvino 12189 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve